< Back to Product

BelAire 318VN Two Stage Air Compressor Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
BelAire 318VN Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (6)
Price (5)
I'd Buy It Again (5)
Easy To Use (3)
Features (2)
Cons
Heavy (2)
Missing Parts Upon Deliv... (1)
None (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
20 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Air Compressor Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
234 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
2852 Helpful Votes
Air Compressors Direct Recommended

This compressor earned our Good slot with its combination of features and price.

This unit is a budget-wise step up from single stage units if you need the more CFM to supply larger air tools or multiple work stations.

We like that it's ready to go- no need to purchase a starter, has a built-in pressure switch, and high-end features like stainless steel valves and an oil sight glass.

An added benefit is that the folks at BelAire test their tanks at 100% full pressure before they leave... more
Steve Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
4912
Ken R.
Oak Ridge, TN
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 8/17/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great!
I looked and looked for a compressor that would supply enough CFM for my new cabinet sand blaster. It had to have the CFM but it had to have 220C-AC single phase and not draw more than 30 amps. I was afraid my 30 amp breaker wouldn't be enough but it is and it works great.

It fired right up and delivers 90 PSI and doesn't run out of air while blasting away. I do need to get an air dryer on it to keep the sand dry- I noticed the sand is packing a little.
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Fast
Cons: Heavy
Ken Recommends This BelAire Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Ken,
Im glad you found a good match for your sandblasting cabinet! Here's a link to our page for 5-HP Air Dryers, and this Tsunami Painting Dryer would also work for sandblasting.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Matthew Z.
Houston, TX
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 2/8/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet & Quick To Fill!
Ordered this compressor to replace a previous one I had, worlds better is all I can say.

It is really quiet for an oiled compressor, and fills decently fast. Couldn't be happier.

Looks cool as well!
Matthew Recommends This BelAire Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Russell B.
Shelby, MI
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/22/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
What An Upgrade!
We could only get 90psi out of our old unit. The BelAire is great.

It was not shipped on a flimsy skid, it was very easy to hook up, and Air Compressors Direct made the purchase easy and beat any local price by a mile.

Needless to say, I'm Happy!!
Pros: Price, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use
Russell Recommends This BelAire Product
Russell's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"So simple and painless. Thanks."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Randy R.
Las Vegas, NV
Total Helpful Votes
39 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hope It Lasts Another 30 Years
I bought the Belaire for a couple of reasons-

The first reason i needed one that could run a sand blaster with no down time.

The next thing that i wanted was one made in the USA like the one I had for 30yrs.

It was time for a new one- I picked Belaire 318vn. After I got it hook up it was so quiet I had to check to see if it was running- I never heard a compressor so quiet.

I hope that this one will last 30yrs. very pleased with it
Was this review helpful?
391
David M.
Saint Albans, VT
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/6/15
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Can't Believe How Quiet It Is!!
I have a medium volume auto dealership moving 30-50 units a month, I just put up a 40x40 2 bay garage with all new equipment, we do it all, body and mechanical so I needed a good solid performer. A friend told me to check out the 7.5 I&R fully packaged which I did and after researching it heavily I decided it was not reliable enough and way too loud.

Even though this site rates it as a best buy, the reviews do not reflect it, the other reason was the warranty, a full 2 years versus one... more
David Recommends This BelAire Product
David's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This transaction went smoothly and the unit arrived early and in great shape."
 more
Was this review helpful?
101
Kenneth E.
Robbins, NC
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 8/21/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ken Emmons
I was somewhat apprehensive about ordering from a company so far from my home, especially when required to send payment "up front" with a check to a company I had never dealt with, even in order to save 2% on the purchase price.

However, my total experience with Air Compressors Direct was completely positive. My order was processed quickly and I received my compressor 13 total days from the date I placed my order. It arrived in perfect condition, undamaged, was easy to hook up,... more
Kenneth Recommends This BelAire Product
Was this review helpful?
91
Richard Kinsella,
Nesconset, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/11/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value
I did a lot of research and kept coming back to this compressor. It was delivered right away. The trucker had a pallet jack, and put it right where I wanted it.

Had an electrician put a plug on the end of the wire and flipped the switch. No issues at all. Ran galvanized pipe along the garage with a Tsunami water separator and an air regulator. The compressor handles ALL my tools (grinders, sanders, cut off wheels) with ease.

Haven't painted yet, but don't anticipate a problem. To top... more
Pros: Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Richard Recommends This BelAire Product
Richard's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everyone at Air Compressors Direct was very helpful. The product came right away and complete. I would buy from ACD again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
103
Joshua B.
Glendora, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/22/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Buy
Good buy for the money.
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Joshua Recommends This BelAire Product
Was this review helpful?
60
George B.
Reno, NV
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/11/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice
It is everything I bought it for. As quiet as anything that size I ever heard.
George Recommends This BelAire Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Anthony D.
Hammonton, NJ
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/24/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor
Excellent Compressor, well worth the money spent. It keeps up with all our shop tools.
Anthony Recommends This BelAire Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Jeffrey Daige
Chesapeake Beach, MD
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/13/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Quality Construction
I'm a small cabinet shop contractor. The unit is well built and quiet. It comes with all the parts for a speedy hook up. A very nice unit.
Jeffrey Recommends This BelAire Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Mike L.
Berlin, ND
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/28/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Relatively Quiet
It was what I had hoped for. Everything was complete, easy to wire and relatively quiet.
Pros: Quiet, Features, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Mike Recommends This BelAire Product
Mike's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I ordered it, it arrived in good condition when it was supposed to. I don't do a lot of business on line but this experience will encourage me to do more. I appreciated the fact that it was delivered to my shop door."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
John K.
Staten Island, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/24/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Airs To You
Not much to say- very happy. Thank you Air Compressors Direct. I will buy again. . .
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None
John Recommends This BelAire Product
John Would Recommend Air Compressors Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"OTHER THAN THE SHIPPING TAKING A LITTLE LONG, ALL ELSE WAS GOOD..."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Ron Q.
Jamestown, ND
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/29/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great 80 Gallon Compressor
I'm very happy with this compressor it has plenty of air, it's noise level is ok, recovers fast when using air sander or sandblasted no problems. Shipped from factory on time. Very Happy
Ron Recommends This BelAire Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Chris O.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/13/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased
I'm very happy with this compressor. No more waiting to let air build to continue painting. I had it dropped right at my house. The pallet it was on was very flimsy, but all is well. It runs great, builds air quickly, and is very quiet.
Chris Recommends This BelAire Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Gary B.
Claremore, OK
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/20/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
First Order, Last Order !!
You ask me to write a "review". How do I like my compressor? I don't know. I have to have it first !!
FOUR DAYS LATE on delivery and still waiting.
Like the "Your Headline" says ....
FIRST ORDER , LAST ORDER
You have no idea whatn this four day and counting delay has cost me. Nor do you care.
Post this review on line. I'll be looking for it.
Gary Recommends This BelAire Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Gary,
Gary,
We did look into your shipment and responded to you yesterday morning that we saw it was out for delivery yesterday morning. We do apologize if there were any delays in your delivery, unfortunately we do not currently offer guaranteed delivery. I see it was signed for by you yesterday. Again sorry for any delay or inconvenience this might has caused.
more
Was this review helpful?
109
Greg K.
Cedar Lake, IN
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/24/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Few Minor Problems But A Good Compressor Otherwise
I purchased this BelAire model 318VN on July 24,2015. shipping was fast and without problems. However the sight glass was loose and leaked some oil out of the pump. And there were two air leaks one on the pressure switch and another on the copper line that connects to the top of the tank. Both just required disassembly and re-sealed but frustrating nonetheless on a brand new unit. I would buy again though. great value!
Greg Recommends This BelAire Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Jeremy F.
Red Lion, PA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/29/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Belaire 318vn
I couldn't tell you how well it works yet. I was super excited when it came in and I quickly removed the plastic wrap to see my new beauty. After looking it over I discovered that there was no air filter. I immediately called ACD and told them about the situation. The guy I talked to was very friendly and helpful, saying that he would contact the manufacturer and send me an email to let me know the result (and to let me know the filter was on the way to me).

Apparently, I'm the only... more
Pros: Price, Features, High Quality
Cons: Missing Parts Upon Delivery
Jeremy Recommends This BelAire Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Jeremy,
We're sorry to hear that you're disappointed with our service. Unfortunately, because we do keep regular business hours for the wellness of our employees, we're not always available outside of regular business hours or on weekends.

In these situations, we ask that you leave a message or an email, and you should receive a response first thing the next business day.

If you don't hear back from us by then, you can contact us directly at (800) 710-7499 to speak with a customer service manager or a product expert.
more
Jeremy's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"I'm disappointed with how the dedication to the customers lacks outside of the 9am-5pm, Monday through Friday period. ACD's customers service their customers outside of those days/hours, so why do we suffer when we need service during those times from the companies we rely on? The same goes for the air compressor companies. If I paid a little extra money I would have been able to notice the problem that existed before I left a brick and mortar store and avoided all of this down time in work production. In reality I probably lost dollars by trying to save cents. It makes me wonder if I should get away from internet purchases when my business depends on it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
36
David G.
Yuma, AZ
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/8/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bel Aire 5 H.p. Model 318vn
Good value, excellent quality, but shipping was a comedy of errors.
David Recommends This BelAire Product
Was this review helpful?
14
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials