Welcome |
Your Cart @ Air Compressors Direct Cart:
New Customers
Returning Customers
< Back to Product

Campbell Hausfeld VT6271 Portable - Horizontal Air Compressor Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$659.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$659.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$659.99
(as of 06:02 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$659.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
Campbell Hausfeld VT6271 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (8)
I'd Buy It Again (6)
High Quality (5)
Easy To Use (5)
Price (5)
Cons
Packaging (4)
Expensive (2)
Can't Get Hand Under Tan... (1)
A Bit Noisier Than I Exp... (1)
Drain Plug Difficult To ... (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
67 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Air Compressor Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
234 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
2740 Helpful Votes
Air Compressors Direct Recommended

Our choice for the "Best" slot is a step up in power. You will need a 230 Volt outlet to run this compressor, but what you might lose in convenience you will gain in power.

A larger, 3 HP engine produces almost doubles the CFM (10 instead of 5.2) at 90 PSI so you can run larger volume air tools, or use multiple, smaller tools at the same time.

The larger, 26 gallon air tank and pump weighs only a few pounds more than our "Better" selection, but it's the hefty 3 year... more
Steve Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
6714
Thomas S.
Buffalo, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/27/14
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Campbell Hausfeld 3.2-hp 26-gallon
My compressor arrived in perfect condition. The unit was wrapped to a skid and banded.

Very pleased and would recommend.
View Image
Thomas Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Thomas's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"A1 Service!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
64
Gary W.
Ogden, UT
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/11/13
Total Helpful Votes
22 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
As Advertised
Everything was as advertised. I got free shipping and free lift gate on the delivery truck.

The tank drain valve is too close to the ground, making it very inconvenient to use. I raised the compressor by installing the wheels in the lower set of mounting holes and bolting a board under the front foot. I then piped the drain out to the side and clamped it to the front foot. Now it is very easy to reach.
View Image
Pros: High Capacity
Cons: Drain Difficult To Use
Gary Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Was this review helpful?
221
Patrick C.
Williamson, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/20/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Deal
I read mixed reviews but had good experiences with brand, I think some people just don't know what they're doing.

The unit arrived on pallet strapped & wrapped in a box. Put it together and once I wired my garage outlet for it, it ran quieter & filled quickly- better than my older unit.

It has great recovery, and is easily maintained.(Watch your oil gauge.) Make sure you're willing to have a dedicated outlet for this compressor. It takes a double pole 20a breaker with a 230v... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Fast, Reliable
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, Special Wired Outlet
Patrick Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Patrick's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipped the next day after ordering by freight with free shipping arrangements. Nothing but positive experiences from this company. The freight company however could be a little more proactive by calling a day in advance for shipping to home, so I could've made arrangements. But they were willing to go out of their way later that day to deliver in another area out of town for the inconvenience."
 more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Patrick,
The freight companies are supposed to call to set up a delivery day and time- I'm sorry that didn't happen, but glad everything worked out OK. We will work with the folks at R&L to improve service in your area.
Was this review helpful?
10
David L.
Northville, MI
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/8/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buying Experience
Great compressor delivered quickly. All fittings were tight and sealed, requiring no secondary tightening.

Seems to run my impact guns fine. I will be putting them to the test next week when I replace the shock absorbers on my truck.

I put a 90 degree fitting and an extension nipple at the tank drain connection making access easier.
David Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Pete
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Good!
I just received my VT6271 today. My compressor was delivered into my garage exactly one week from the day that I bought it and RL Carriers delivered it in perfect condition. And it was strapped to a wood pallet straight from CH factory so I would imagine damage should no longer be much of a issue in shipping like some people have recently stated.

After doing the final assembly of the wheels and handles I ran the break in cycle. After that I changed the oil and did a couple of quick... more
Pete Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph S.
Niskayuna, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 2/11/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
08
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Almost Perfect
Ordered it on line, showed up in a week's time, couldn't be home for delivery, shipper was very cooperative and dropped it off in the driveway.

Only complaint is that drain valve, can not access easily- yes I understand why it is on the bottom, but you should at least turn it out 90 degrees and add another couple of inches of pipe, ship it loose like the wheels so it will not break in transit.
Joseph Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Joseph,
Campbell Hausfeld makes a Drain Extension Kit that will help make the drain more accessible.

Depending on your setup, you might want to think about adding an Automatic Drain Valve so you don't have to mess with it at all.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Tim S.
Wellsville, OH
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/7/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Air Compressor
Overall I am very satisfied with the air compressor and Air Compressors Direct.

I have only a few minor negatives: the oil drain set up was messy, a few modifications of the piping drain fixed this.The water drain was fixed by the purchase of a better drain system from Campbell Hausfeld.

The viewable size of the owner's manual I fixed by using a copier and enlarging the viewable print.
Tim Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ian F.
East Islip, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/30/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replacement For My Pancake Compressor
Now my (first impression, limited time use) review:

The compressor is so quiet compared to my pancake compressor you can barely hear in the house, running in my attached garage. First chore, winterize my sprinkler system, 12 zones in 24 min, was a 2 hr job with my pancake (6 gal). Still need to learn to adjust regulated pressure setting a little better.

Just received a 1/2 inch impact gun from my brother-in -law, when the weather warms up a a little, I plan on rotating my tires on my new... more
Pros: Quiet
Ian Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Ian's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"What can I say but, I can't say enough about my wonderful experience Air Compressors Direct. Read reviews, picked my compressor, placed order and was delivered on Long Island, NY in 4 days. Pack and skidded well. I received it so fast, I did not get a chance to install the new wiring that was needed (220V), it took a few weeks but now it is up and running."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark G.
Scotia, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/10/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressors
Great Product, Great Service.
Mark Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Was this review helpful?
00
William C.
Hoover, AL
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
13
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Look At The Way I Fill Up My Tires
I run a cool monster truck, and it takes a lot of air to keep these massive babies full.

I love using my Campbell Hausfeld Air Compressor to do the job right! It doesn't sputter, and fills them 'ol tires up right quick!

Campbell Hausfeld is the only brand I have ever used, or will use!

Keep up the great work!
View Image
Was this review helpful?
31
Matt E.
Livermore, CA
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Speedy Help
I love my Campbell Hausefeld air compressor and 12" impact wrench...

I have to rotate my tires every 1,000 miles because they are low profile, 22" diameter, and very expensive.

It is usually a long and tiresome operation to rotate all 4 wheels every 4 weeks or so. With my impact wrench and compressor, I have been able to rotate all wheels with 5 lug nuts in just about under 25 minutes. (It used to take me an hour and a half or more to get the job done.)

This has given me a... more
View Image
Was this review helpful?
20
Gunner B.
Lehighton, PA
REVIEWED
MAR.
09
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Compressor Story From My Military Experience
We Used Them For Checking and Filling Our Military Vehicles and Everything Else That It Was Made For.

Over Seas You Need Something That's Reliable and Made For Tuff Jobs!!
View Image
Was this review helpful?
32
Dave L.
Cookeville, TN
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2009
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Street To Track
I use my compressor and air lug wrench to change out my street tires every Friday night, putting on my track wheels and tires.

Then, it's back to street tires Sunday night. Keep the speed on the track!

My compressor helps me do just that.
View Image
Was this review helpful?
12
Don R.
Evansville, IN
REVIEWED
FEB.
01
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Never A Problem
I use my Campbell Hausfeld Compressor daily and it has always done me right- never a problem, thanks.
View Image
Was this review helpful?
24
Paul
Cowansville, PA
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2010
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Campbell Hausfeld Works Great
I Use This Product Plus More At My Shop and They Work Great.

I Would Recommend It to Everyone That Needs One.
View Image
Was this review helpful?
15
George L.
North Tonawanda, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/8/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
05
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Big Compressor
I got my VT6271 compressor installed a few days ago, and have only ran it enough for the 1 hour break in period. But there were no issues it ran just fine.

I'm very impressed with the fill time from 0 to 135 psi in just about 3 minutes- love it.

PED's web site said 5 to 7 day shipping time frame, ABF freight called me about 52 hours after I ordered it on line and wanted to deliver it the next day (Friday) which didn't work for me, so I picked it up in person on Monday.

The only... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
George Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Was this review helpful?
150
Jerry R.
Placerville, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/2/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Got It Quick
Ordered the compressor, got it in a timely manner. But when shipped, it was shipped on its side strapped to a pallet. It leaked oil all over the place, and the knob on the pressure regulator was knocked off its threads.

I got it back on, and the threads were not damaged, so got lucky on that. Also, the instructions did not tell what type of oil was in it. You can run 10w-30 non-detergent or 10w-30 synthetic. I had some synthetic so topped the motor off with that.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, Reliable
Cons: Packaging
Jerry Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Jerry,
Page 4 of the Owner's Manual says "Use SAE 30 Industrial grade air compressor oil (which is non-detergent), or full synthetic motor oil like Mobil 1, 10W30. DO NOT USE REGULAR MOTOR OIL."

It also advises to drain and replace the oil after the first hour of run time.

We apologize for the mess- we keep reminding the shippers to keep the units upright during transport, sometimes they still get tipped over.

A copy of the Owner's Manual can be downloaded from the Specs section of our Product Page for this unit.
more
Was this review helpful?
120
Richard V.
Covington, LA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/13/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great For 220 Power
This is a great air compressor if you've got a 220 circuit available. It's very quiet.
Was this review helpful?
100
John
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/27/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Air Compressor
I really like this air compressor. It is perfect for driving my Plasma cutter which requires more CFM than almost any other portable compressor can deliver.

It is actually quieter than my old 5 gallon compressor.

If I was make suggestions for Campbell Hausfeld I would suggest they include an oil drain extension to make it easier to drain the oil. I was able to rig something up with some painters tape and a piece of plastic sheet to direct the oil into a pan and not all over the... more
Was this review helpful?
90
Donnie W.
Lucasville, OH
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/28/11
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Honest Feedback
Dear Sirs: You asked for honest feedback. I did my order by phone with Bob at extension 129. The first
compressor arrived with damage and I refused to accept. The second arrived with damage and I refused to accept. Bob offered a refund and I told him I needed a compressor. I also contacted CHPower customer service about the situation. A third compressor was shipped and it also arrived with damage. I accepted it and contacted CHPower at Harrison, Ohio, and they offered to send repair... more
Was this review helpful?
90
Ron K.
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 2/12/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Performing Conpressor
After hearing all the shipping damage issues seen by other buyers, I was very concerned that I would have problems too. I was very pleasantly surprised when this unit was delivered on a shipping pallet very well packaged and secured.

I had no damage, and belt alignment was perfect. My unit was delivered with oil in the pump, and some pressure in the tank. I replaced the oil with fresh Mobil 1, fired it up, and it works great.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Quiet
Ron Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Ron,
Thank you for letting us know everything was OK- we've been working with the folks at Campbell to improve the packaging for this unit. We've found that most of the shipments arrive in good condition, but our customers don't post about that. It's the shipments with issues that usually trigger a review.
more
Was this review helpful?
60
Jason
Saint Loius, MO
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/11/11
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Everything I Wanted
I struggled with ordering this compressor because of reviews about shipping damage. I was pleasantly relieved when it arrived without a bit of damage.

After a quick assembly of the wheels and handle I performed the compressor break-in procedure. My wife’s observation was “how surprisingly quiet” this compressor was compared to how noisy our neighbors oil-less compressor was.

All-in-all I would rate the buying experience and compressor a 5 stars.
Was this review helpful?
60
Frank S.
Dubuque, IA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/17/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet Plus Good Value
This is a very quiet compressor with a very quick recovery time.

We did have a hose blow off the regulator, so I called Campbell Hausfeld and they sent out a replacement right away.

Shipping was rather slow. I did not get a tracking # until the day it showed up- I think they need to work on getting them out a lot faster.
Pros: Quiet, Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Frank Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Frank,
You placed your order on Wednesday, 7/17 and we sent it to Campbell Hausfeld the same day. We say this unit ships out in 4 to 7 business (Monday thru Friday, except holidays) days- and your compressor left the dock at Campbell Hausfeld on Friday, 7/19.

That's shipping in 2 business days, ahead of schedule! The freight carrier delivered your unit on Wednesday, 7/24- the fifth business day after you placed your order.

Campbell Hausfeld sends us the tracking information in batches- they got your compressor delivered before we got the tracking and got it posted. We can work on getting the information from CH faster, but we are more concerned about getting your compressor delivered to you as quickly as possible.

Please be assured that we don't collect from your credit card until we post the tracking information; but we won't hold your shipment waiting on paperwork.
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Patrick W.
Desoto, MO
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 8/18/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
First Time Used
after break-in and oil change, used compressor to paint car, worked fine, but opened the drain to remove water and found drain to malfunction. Had to remove the drain plug and replace c clip and o ring. This seems like a poor system for such a expensive compressor. have a 20 year old sears compressor and used the drain with no problems. I think your engineers need to rethink this. thanks!
Patrick Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Patrick's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"good fast service"
 more
Was this review helpful?
51
Rich P.
Bloomington, IN
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/5/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Inner Belt Shield Broken
I haven't used it yet. I will give you a reply when I do so.

The only complaint I had, if one wants to call it that, was the inner belt shield was broken where if fastened to the pump cooling fins. The plastic "tip" had not came in contact with the fins. The assemblers had used a longer "bolt" to secure it. When it was tighten it pulled the plastic "tip" down to meet the fins, and consequently it pulled it out or away from the main inner belt portion.
more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Rich,
You can give the folks at Campbell Hausfeld a call directly at 800-330-0712, toll free, if you'd like to talk to them about the fitment of the belt shield.

Be sure to have the serial number of your air compressor handy when you call.
more
Was this review helpful?
51
Chris G.
Willow Springs, IL
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/24/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Small Compressor On The Market
It's the best small compressor on the market.

With over 10 cfm I can use any tools, or paint a car if I want.

It is also very quiet.
Was this review helpful?
40
Chester L.
Kanab, UT
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/21/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Giant Disapointment
1. Ordered 7/21/2015
2. Shipped 7/22/2015
3. Delivered 8/13/2015

R&L Carrier & Mac's Deliveries teamed up to provided a 22 day unreasonably long shipping time with inferior communication. Wrong information and stalling were the results of my calls to shippers.

The air compressor arrived in a crushed box, missing the original shipping security wrap. It had been on its side and maybe upside down judging by the crankcase oil coating the outside of the compressor. Luckily it... more
Pros: Easy To Store
Cons: Packaging, Drain Plug Difficult To Access
Chester Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Was this review helpful?
63
George H.
West Tisbury, MA
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Performer
I am so glad that Air Compressors Direct recommended this compressor over the one I had first chosen - this one really performs.
Pros: High Quality, Price, Fast
Cons: A Bit Noisier Than I Expected
George Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Clint Z.
Laramie, WY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/14/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Price For Size
Needs better packaging for shipping, bent handle in shipping. Excellent air compressor and price.
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Packaging
Clint Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Clint,
Clint,

We do apologize for the bent handle in shipping. If there is anything we can do to be of any assistance in this matter, please don't hesitate to let us know. If you need or want a new handle, it should not be any issue in us getting you one.
more
Was this review helpful?
41
Ron G.
San Bruno, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/18/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
All Good
Delivered as promised, packaged well, there was no damage. I did the start up & break-in as per instruction guide, and will change the oil after 1 hr of use per guide.

So far living up to all expectations.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Quiet, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
Ron Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Frank
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 4/2/12
REVIEWED
MAR.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
An Outstanding Performance
I'm not a car mechanic or use air tools professionally but I am kind of a jack of all trades (except plumbing- lol), but I must honestly say this kit has served me well.

I use it for around the house projects , my car and motorcycle. I'm quite pleased with the quality and price of this kit.

Oh- as with any tool or mechanical device follow the maintenance schedule ....ENJOY!
Was this review helpful?
41
William S.
Derby, KS
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Assemble Your Own Compressor
The unit delivered in the standard card board box, with the regulator somewhat twisted and a few rub marks, but nothing compared to how it was going to be used.

However, I did not anticipate having to go over the unit and tighten all the nuts and bolts and line fittings to get the leaks and rattles stopped. Once I had the unit running I could hear a rumbling and a continuing air leak- it was the tank line gauge. I called the help line and had a pair of replacements right away. Good... more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
William,
In order to qualify as Made in USA a product has to have at least 85% of its components made in America & be assembled here. Campbell Hausfeld products do not meet that standard.

Made In USA units are available, however they are more expensive- you may want to look at Quincy or Jenny units.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Ryan F.
Snohomish, WA
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2009
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Never A Single Problem
I have had this compressor for 3 years and never had a single problem.

I would recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
30
C. V.
Huntington Beach, CA
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Arrived Safe And Sound, Running Great
It seems that CH has figured out it is better to ship on a sturdy wood pallet rather than just a cardboard box as others have had problems...I was holding my breath but it arrived in perfect condition. I double checked all mounting bolts and everything was secure. Just added the right receptacle after tapping the 220 outlet from my dryer which has never been used in 30 years! I run 5 large pressure casters for plastic parts I make for vintage toys and some muscle car dash parts and this unit... more
C. Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
C.'s Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"They kept me in the loop on this, as it was backordered. I received updates as it went along and no issues."
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Guy Z.
Homosassa, FL
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/13/15
REVIEWED
APR.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Value For The Money
I was shopping around for a cast iron air compressor, and I came across the Power Equipment Direct website. The reviews for the product were accurate. The compressor has exceeded my expectations.
Guy Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Guy's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great buyer's experience from purchase to delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Mark K.
Wichita, KS
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/11/15
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Compressor
Very happy with this purchase, it showed up in perfect condition and it runs way quieter than my old one. Thanks for a great buy.
Mark Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Mark's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Only complaint I had was that no one there could tell me if this compressor shipped with oil in it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Brian C.
Cda, ID
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/24/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Vt-6271 Compressor
The unit arrived undamaged but missing a little hardware. CH sent the parts right out and I have been using it. The only complaint I have is the low drain valve and the fact that there was quite a bit of water in the tank the first time I fired it up.

I hope it wasn't sitting in a warehouse too long with rusty water in the tank! The only other thing I would have liked is pneumatic wheels instead of the cheap plastic ones.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, Durable, Reliable
Cons: Packaging
Brian Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Gary E.
Burlington, VT
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/7/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor
I am painting my 1956 Austin Healey in my garage and after researching compressors I decided on this CH Heavy Duty unit that has a 3 hp motor and uses a 240 volt circuit. I am happy to report that the compressor is heavy duty and has kept up with my DA sander and my new HVLP Spray gun. The gun needs 9 cfm to work right and the compressor puts out 11 cfm and it certainly keeps up. The painting is going very well and I am very pleased with the compressor. The only problem I had after... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality, Durable
Gary Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Gary's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great Price, and the shipping was really fast, I had my compressor within one week of ordering."
 more
Was this review helpful?
53
Mike
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 4/8/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Proud Of My New Compressor
Arrived very timely, early in fact. Package well intact, no damage.

I chose to install it securely on an elevated deck to save floor space, so I did not use the wheels or handle.

It runs very well- runs air tools perfectly well at a reasonable sound level.

I am proud of my new compressor- it's a good choice to have made.

P.S. For whatever reason I can't pair my picture with this reply.
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Mike,
We are sorry your picture didn't upload properly. Our system uses images that are small- 2MG. If the image is too large it won't be accepted.
more
Was this review helpful?
31
Lyles
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/7/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Recommend It To All
Haven't had my compressor for long, but the little I have used it for impact wrenches and airing up motorhome tires it really works well.

Shipping and delivery was great and had no problems with damage.

It really is quiet compared to the electric I had before. I would recommend it to all.
Was this review helpful?
20
Jerry
Redondo Beach, CA
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
So far very satisfied. My last CH compressor lasted 20 yrs.of home use. Made in the good ole USA is a double plus.

Service was great.
Was this review helpful?
20
Louis N.
APT.3, MA
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2010
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Impressed
I thought Campbell Hausfeld was a cheap name at first, with cheap products. But when I purchased my compressor I was really surprised and impressed with the power, durability, and quality.
Was this review helpful?
20
Greg
Blackstone, VA
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Products
I purchased this compressor for use in my business and it does the job.

It has withstood very demanding use in tough working conditions.

I would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful?
20
Lawna N.
Rio Linda, CA
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Late For Work
I had gotten ready for work and I was so late.

When I got in the car I quickly figured out that my car tire was low. This made me even later, but luckily my air compressor worked well.

When I got to work I explained what had happened. My boss liked my compressor so much he went out and bought one for himself (and I didn't get my pay docked for being late).

It really pays to have such a great compressor.
Was this review helpful?
20
Stuart C.
Independence, KS
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
How To Clean A Wall- Good Advice
I have never had an easier time than I did with my air compressor and sand blaster. It made the time fly by and the job seemed easier.

There was no strain- the equipment did the job. Thank you!
Was this review helpful?
20
Jeff S.
Salisbury, NC
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/8/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Compressor
Came when promised. Was packaged good. No issues at all. Works great!!
Jeff Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Mark
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/10/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
1st Impressions
Received w/o damage today, thx to ACD & carrier. Looks like a heavy duty machine as described, got it per Steve's recommendation & high CFM output. Handle bolts & nuts were missing, but quik fix. Would recommend putting stud mounted casters on ft., much smoother & levels out machine. Check oil. run 1 hr, change. Would go w/manual recommendation, Mobil 10/30 syn. I think this will work out great for a small commercial/HD homeowner operation. Thumbs up :-)
Mark Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Melvin A.
Sagola, MI
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/16/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Drain Vaule
Lower to ground in the mitleworst then my old my .compeser this is my 3rd sence 1975 I bet there engerines never try it
Melvin Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Dan S.
Glastonbury, CT
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 6/13/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Value
Had a 27 year old Craftsman 5 HP with 30 Gallon tank. The tank started to leak and couldn't find a replacement tank. This compressor is the only one I found that came close to the performance of the old one at a reasonable price.
Pros: Quiet, Price, Durable, Easy To Store
Cons: Can't Get Hand Under Tank To Open Tank Drain
Dan Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Dan's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Shipped promptly as promised. Product appears to be as advertised, although I haven't used it much yet."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Juan De C.
Miami, FL
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/19/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My First Air Compressor
I received this air compressor about a week ago and the setting up was very easy and it is functioning 100%. It is not so loud,
very effective and very quick. This air compressor also very powerful.

The only maybe drawback is that the tank is a little too big, 26 gallons. When I ordered it I did not quite focus on the tank size.

But for the rest I would recommend it to all my friends.
Was this review helpful?
10
John W.
Vancouve, B.C. Canada, WA
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Packed It In Today
My CH compressor packed it in today. It was a V-twin. I was very disappointed. After all, I bought it in 1975 and it ran in my shop almost every day.

I was expecting at least a hundred years from this machine considering I paid $250 1975.

I think I will buy another like CH compressor and try for at least another hundred years of use. I hope my kids like it.
Was this review helpful?
32
Mark B.
Livermore, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 8/19/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Always Wanted A Really Big Air Compressor ...
... and now I have one! This works *really well*. It requires 240V, but once you get it connected up, it works close to flawlessly.

For anybody from a garage mechanic to a serious gearhead, I can highly recommend this compressor.
Was this review helpful?
10
Tom M.
Papillion, NE
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 6/18/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Working Good
This is a good compressor. I received it in just a few days after I ordered it.

Serviced it, plugged it in, and its been working good ever since.
Was this review helpful?
10
John
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 6/19/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Unit
This is a really great compressor - it's quiet and powerful.

It shipped and delivered fast & in perfect condition.

I'm very happy with the entire purchase!
Was this review helpful?
10
Steven C. Jr.
Sherman, TX
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The 230 Volt Air Compressor Rules!
I love this air compressor!
Was this review helpful?
10
Karl H. Jr.
Ashtabula, OH
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Thing I Ever Did
My old Craftsman air compressor failed after a couple of years, and I wanted a real air compressor- so I bought a Campbell Hausfeld one.

This compressor will handle anything, and it is also quiet.

Buying it is the best thing I ever did.
Was this review helpful?
10
Edward T.
Fairmount, IN
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/29/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Compressor
Arrived on time, no damage, works great.
Edward Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Brian
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/20/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Fast Delivery!
Wow, this showed up only 2 days after ordering! I'm in Ohio, and it came from Kentucky, which helps, but that's still incredibly fast for lift-gate service!

No damage, looks great. I haven't powered it up yet, as it arrived before I could get my wiring done! Assume that it runs well and that I'm very happy unless I come here to amend this review.
Brian Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Niall D.
Miami, FL
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/30/10
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2011
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Shipped Outside The Us
There is a design flaw with the Campbell Hausfeld Compressor. The Pressure switch and the Regulator both stick out on the side.

Due to this my compressor arrived with the nipple broken, the pressure switch broken and the Regulator broken. And to top that of the compressor was shipped without the handle.

Probably a great compressor but maybe put the pressure switch on the handle side of the motor. Less likely to get broken in shipping or in getting bumped into. And I had to fix switch my... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Koorosh
Miami, FL
REVIEWED
FEB.
25
2010
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Compressor For Life
Thank you for providing an excellent product. The reputation and quality that you provide the public allows the average homeowner to have their own mini-shop in there garage.

Keep up the good work..
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark J.
Astoria, NY
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Very Well
This Unit Works Very Well and Is Extremely Reliable.
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael S.
Lineville, AL
REVIEWED
SEP.
06
2009
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Alabama Gold Camp Maintenance Worker
I'm always servicing vehicles and heavy equipment, and the tire inflater attachment for the compressor has a tire gauge built into it.

But, it seems whenever I'm in need of one for my personal vehicles I never seem to have one readily available.
Was this review helpful?
00
Kyle
Manassas, VA
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2009
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Item
This compressor has worked well for me multiple times in the past.

It is a great item- I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful?
00
John S.
Winchester, VA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 8/15/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
05
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Okey-dokey
I have not used it much, but when I have it seems to be okey-dokey.
Was this review helpful?
01
Angela M.
Kansas City, MO
REVIEWED
NOV.
13
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
Love it!
Was this review helpful?
12
Billy B.
Weirton, WV
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best
Would not know what to do with out it
Was this review helpful?
12
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials