Your Cart @ Air Compressors Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Chicago Pneumatic RCP-226VP Portable - Vertical Air Compressor Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$679.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$754.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Chicago Pneumatic RCP-226VP Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (12)
High Quality (10)
Fast (7)
I'd Buy It Again (6)
Easy To Use (5)
Cons
Bad Instructions (6)
Expensive (5)
A Little Top Heavy With ... (1)
Port For Air Is Right In... (1)
Questionable Quality Con... (1)
86% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
41 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Air Compressor Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
234 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
2855 Helpful Votes
Air Compressors Direct Recommended

This Chicago Pneumatic air compressor has everything that you would want in a portable air compressor.

First, its quality design and outstanding air delivery make it ideal for professionals and home renovators.

Secondly, it features a dual voltage motor. Basically, it can operate from a 115-volt or 230-volt electrical outlet.

Finally, the 26-gallon tank might seem large, but it can be easily maneuvered around the garage or from site-to-site.
Steve Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
7225
Steve M.
North Las Vegas, NV
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/18/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great!
So far I'm very pleased with the purchase of the Chicago Pneumatic. Runs very quiet, and fills the tank fast.
Steve Recommends This Chicago Pneumatic Product
Was this review helpful?
33
Anthony A.
Woodstock, GA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/4/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Machine
I love this machine, its quite and seems to have as much power as I can get with out going to a 50+ gallon tank.

Let me provide some information. I had a dedicated 230v 20a circuit ran after my electrician ran the plug. He used a non-standard plug so the provided plug would not fit. I changed out the receptacle but it would only pop the breaker. I talked to Chicago Pneumatic who told me the plug should be different so you donít plug a 15 amp 110v appliance and fry it in 10 seconds.

To... more
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Bad Instructions, Expensive
Anthony Recommends This Chicago Pneumatic Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Anthony,
We'd like to chime in for folks researching this unit. We always recommend having a licensed electrician set up your air compressor, both for your insurance coverage and ours.

We'd also like to remind folks that alterations may void their Factory Warranty coverage unless done by a Factory Authorized technician.
more
Was this review helpful?
22
David C.
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 2/12/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
09
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not The Best Cp Customer Service!
I purchased this compressor for a job I had to complete away from the shop. This was the largest 120V compressor I could find. I read the reviews and proceeded with the purchase.

Upon receiving all looked well. I'm on a short deadline for the this pertiicular job that's why I had to make this purchase. Low and behold the compressor has several leaks. I contacted the company [Chicago Pneumatic] they didn't seem to care much but did send some new seals out. They wouldn't fix it I was told I... more
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Allow Time To Fix Quality Control Issues Several Leaks The Tank
David Recommends This Chicago Pneumatic Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
David,
I am sorry your air compressor arrived with leaky seals- I realize how frustrating that can be, especially when you're under a deadline.

Your account shows that when you called to tell us about your situation we explained that this was a Factory Warranty issue that Chicago Pneumatic would need to handle. However, we appreciated the time and trouble it would cost you- offering you a generous credit for your inconvenience was the best we could do to help out.
more
Was this review helpful?
23
Matt
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/26/13
Total Helpful Votes
45 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
06
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
40 Days Later, I Received A Broken Compressor
I ordered the compressor on January 26th, 2013. I received it today, March 6th, 2013. That's right, it took over a month to arrive. When I ordered it, it stated it would take "2-6 business days" to ship. The reality was that it was on backorder, but the website didn't bother to notify their customers. They recently updated the website to show this after I insisted they do it. They claim that it's not their fault since the compressor ships from the manufacturer, but they still... more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Matt,
We notified you about the backorder on 2/5, and updated you again on 2/20, with apologies for the delay. We explained that Chicago Pneumatic had an issue with their air tanks, and had to wait for replacements to be manufactured.

We do not charge anyone's credit card until their order actually ships.

We understand your frustration at the delay; compounded by shipping damage- there are shipping claims and manufacturer's warranty procedures that will cover repair or replacement of your compressor.

Chicago Pneumatic's interruption in production would have delayed your order, no matter who you had ordered it from.
more
Was this review helpful?
459
Ray
San Jose, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/8/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
24 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product
Lets start with the shipping- excellent. The compressor came shipped on two pallets; a smaller one on top of a larger one. The delivery company called before delivery. They were extremely accommodating and came when I was home. The compressor was in great shape. There were a couple simple assembly requirements.

The Owner's Manual left a lot to be desired. It was one small book that looked like it was printed at home. It did not give good instructions for maintenance of the machine. It did... more
Was this review helpful?
243
Dan R.
Minot, ND
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/7/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
26 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
14
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Don't Make The Mistake That I Did!
The PCP-226VP compressor is the most poorly designed unit that I have owned.
Here is a brief list of problems:
1. After breaking in, it took 10 minutes to reach operating pressure. After all connections were tight and leak proof, the unit lost pressure within 45 minutes and had to run again to build operating pressure of 135psi.
2. The advertisement read that the compressor reached 150psi but the unit only reaches 135psi.
3. The supplied rubber casters are mounted to holes in the base frame... more
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Low Quality, Heavy, Unreliable, Garbage
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Dan,
I checked our product page, and our Specs list this unit at 125 PSI as the tank maximum; so 135 PSI is beyond the rated maximum- please be careful! It should be able to produce 7.1 CFM at 90 PSI, and 8.3 CFM at 40 PSI.

This unit has a 1 year Factory Warranty, so if it doesn't perform up to specifications, please give the folks at Chicago Pneumatic a call, toll free, at (877) 861-2722. Be sure to have the serial number of your unit handy when you call them.

You can return this unit within the first 30 days. Our
Return Policy is linked at the bottom of our web site, or you can click on this link to go directly there for terms and conditions.

On heavier items that cost more to ship, using the Factory Warranty is usually the most economical way to go.
more
Was this review helpful?
223
Richard R.
Port Neches, TX
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 8/31/13
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Built Air Compressor
Been a woodworker for 30 years, owned 2 other air compressors. This compressor has to be the best air compressor I've owned.

Very well built, very quiet, plenty of air for all the jobs I do as a woodworker.
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Richard Recommends This Chicago Pneumatic Product
Was this review helpful?
153
Edwin L.
Seattle, WA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/25/13
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Garage-mahal Gets 7.1cfm @ 90psi
I could air up tires and blow of the work bench with my nail gun compressor but that was about it.

Now, the plasma cutter, planishing hammer, air tools- no problem. It's fairly quiet, smooth running and able to keep up with a guy in a garage pounding out metal furniture/art and misc. projects.

The Chicago Pneumatic 2-HP 26-Gallon (Belt Drive) Dual-Voltage Cast-Iron Air Compressor is a good way to step up your game.
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Easy To Use, Reliable
Edwin Recommends This Chicago Pneumatic Product
Was this review helpful?
122
Steve S.
Green Valley, AZ
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/11/13
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
High Cfm For 120 Volt Compressor
I needed a good CFM rating and didn't want to mess with 220 volt wiring. Most units in this size range try to keep motor amps to 15 (vs 19 on this one) and therefore have a lower output.

Overall this unit appears to be of high quality and have good performance with a reasonable sound level. Two minor negatives: outlet pressure gauge failed quickly (if you mount it per the illustration, it touches the handle and vibrates). I replaced it with one I had on hand. Also, the maintenance... more
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Quiet, Fast
Cons: Expensive
Steve Recommends This Chicago Pneumatic Product
Steve Would Recommend Air Compressors Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Product description was accurate and useful. Info on availability and lead time was correct. Shipment was prompt and exactly to the schedule provided. Best of all, unit arrived in perfect condition and the driver (ABF) was pleasant and very helpful."
 more
Was this review helpful?
111
Craig T.
North Hollywood, CA
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pleasantly Surprised, Very Happy With Purchase!
I was hesitant to buy any compressor with so many mixed reviews around for various models. This one seemed to have consistently good reviews. Now that I own one I can see why. You cannot compare this to any 26 gallon compressor from a big box store or chain store.

The build is clearly much more heavy duty than most, if not all I've seen at those type of stores. It fills the tank quickly and comes with a regulator. It is best to put some kind of filter between the tank and regulator,... more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Craig,
We've asked the folks at Chicago Pneumatic to send us current images; we'll post them as soon as we get them.
more
Was this review helpful?
111
Juan C.
Palm Bay, FL
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Can Run An Aircat 1680 Impact
I purchased this compressor about 4 or 5 years ago from Air Compressor Direct. It is pricey for the tank size but it does provide the highest cfm rating on a 115 Volt source of any compressor in their inventory. I am not a professional mechanic but I do almost every kind of auto repair on my vehicles. I almost never send things out to get done so I needed a compressor to run impact wrenches, air ratchets, and anything else. This unit has worked well for me over the years. I have used it to... more
Juan Recommends This Chicago Pneumatic Product
Was this review helpful?
101
Nathan
Louisville, KY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 6/21/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor
I chose this compressors because of the great reviews. Needless to say, I have not been disappointed.
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Bad Instructions
Nathan Recommends This Chicago Pneumatic Product
Nathan Would Recommend Air Compressors Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Took a little longer than expected for product to ship, though this was partly because the order shipped direct from the manufacturer. However, Air Compressors Direct had great customer service, and let me know when it would arrive."
 more
Was this review helpful?
112
Roger M.
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/9/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Quality!
I heard lots of compliments on this unit and decided to give it a go.

I am very impressed with the craftsmanship and quality of the unit. Everything from order to delivery to performance was excellent!

A+ is my grade on my experience with Air Compressors Direct and I am sure I won't need another compressor for a very long time!
Was this review helpful?
101
Dee
San Diegofrom Philly, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/7/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor!!!
This is my first air compressor and I have no regrets. There may be better out there but there's no reason to look any further.

It's quiet, strong, takes up minimum space, builds pressure so fast I don't even notice when it cuts on and off, has great CFM for its size compared to others, and is very efficient.

No flaws at all, it works on a regular outlet- but just make sure you have a dedicated outlet with nothing else plugged into it.

You'll be satisfied, so don't worry...
Was this review helpful?
90
Jack
Wilmington, CA
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice Compressor
The compressor was received in perfect condition. The trucking company delivered on time, helped unload to the street and remove packaging for inspection. He also stayed while I plugged it in and tested the motor.

I bought this compressor to replace a 3.3hp Ingersoll Rand portable that is about 20 years old. It still works great but itís very loud. This one is orders of magnitude quieter (like night and day). The old IR will go to my son when he gets a house.

I have used many air... more
Was this review helpful?
80
Steve T.
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/31/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Air Compressors Direct Gets An "a".
The air compressor does not. I expected it to leak after reading all the reviews and it did. Every port on tank leaked and all fittings from pump to tank leaked. I took all lines off sealed them and started it up again. After letting it run for 5 mins with no load on it, closed the drain and it built up faster. I then hooked up a 3 inch hand cutting wheel to it and could not get it to run for more that 45 sec before the tank was down to 40 psi. The compressor held 40 psi with tool running but... more
Steve's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered it Sunday afternoon and it was dropped off at house on Thursday. Great job"
 more
Was this review helpful?
70
Thomas
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/12/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not Bad, But Not Exceptional
Works fine, but it leaks like a sieve. I've spent 2 hours re-bedding things and it's not too bad. There were leaks from the copper pipe where it threads into the pump head, from the unregulated gauge threads, and from the drain threads on the bottom of the tank.

Along my path of troubleshooting that, I dropped the regulated gauge on the ground and broke it, but that's obviously on me.

There's a completely rounded allen-head bolt in the pump head, but it appears to be working... more
Pros: Quiet, Appears To Be Durable But Too Early To Tell
Cons: Questionable Quality Control
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Thomas,
With air compressors, you generally get what you pay for- in this case you should have gotten a tight professional assembly, and since you didn't, you also have a terrific Factory Warranty.

Please give the folks at Chicago Pneumatic a call, toll free, at (877) 861-2722. I suggest telling them about the broken gauge, since you shouldn't have had to pull it while chasing leaks.

Please also be sure to have the serial number of your compressor handy when you call them- they will want to track the unit back for assembly line quality control.

We appreciate your business, and apologize for the inconvenience!
more
Thomas Would Recommend Air Compressors Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Purchasing experience was good. Shipping company was a pleasure to work with."
 more
Was this review helpful?
92
Kenneth L.
Whittier, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/5/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Happy With New Cp Compressor
This unit is quieter and faster than than my previous one that I got at Harbor Freight. The SCFM is higher than the equivalent Ingersoll Rand portable.

Another reason I picked the Chicago Pneumatic was I needed to have a 120Volt power supply. The other brands with a SCFM of 8 at 40 psi required a 220 volt supply.

I have three complaints. The air outlet was not setup for two connections, the belt covers are made of plastic and the instructions did not show enough detail about the... more
Pros: Fast
Cons: Bad Instructions
Kenneth Recommends This Chicago Pneumatic Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Walter A.
Spokane, WA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/28/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Replacement For My 25 Year Old Compressor
The compressor arrived just 6 days from when I ordered it and is in excellent condition. It was packaged very well attached atop a wooden pallet and enclosed in a heavy cardboard container. All parts were well protected and attaching the handle assembly was easy.

It appears to be of high quality and very well constructed. It recharges much faster than my 25 year old 2 hp compressor it is replacing. However, because it is a vertical mount on pneumatic tires, it is a little more unstable... more
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive, A Little Top Heavy With Pneumatic Tires
Walter Recommends This Chicago Pneumatic Product
Walter Would Recommend Air Compressors Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Beat selection of compressors I was able to find on-line. Good product descriptions and ratings which I found helpful in selecting the right compressor for me. The compressor arrived faster than I had expected and was delivered with no apparent shipping damage. It was well packaged from the factory and easy to assemble. Only the handle had to be installed by me. Everything else was done at the factory, including compressor oil already in the unit."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Todd I.
Belfield, ND
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/7/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet
Quiet, powerful, and plenty of air.
Was this review helpful?
71
Alex F.
Phoenix, AZ
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/18/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good 110v
I bought this compressor because it had the highest performance I could find in a 110v that wasn't a direct drive. Mine leaked air out of almost every fitting. I was able to tighten a couple of them to slow the leaking.

I will have to pull it apart and reseal the fitting on top of the tank.
Pros: Quiet, Fast, Durable, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Alex Recommends This Chicago Pneumatic Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Alex,
Please give the folks at Chicago Pneumatic a call, toll free at (877) 861-2722 before you pull the unit apart to make sure your Factory Warranty stays intact. Be sure to have the serial number of your compressor handy when you call them.

We appreciate your business and apologize for any inconvenience!
more
Was this review helpful?
61
Mark M.
Fergus Falls, MN
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 2/13/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Unit, Almost Exactly As Advertised
Ordered the compressor after a thorough research process, where it really stood out from the crowd. Was delivered as promised with no problems.

Holds air tight as a drum...no leaks!! We had a brutal winter here in MN and when kept in the cold storage side of my shop, would pop the circuit breaker because of the viscosity of the cold (-20F or colder) air in the shop. I plumbed a "winter location" in the warm side of the shop and that solved that issue, but I still wonder what kind... more
Pros: High Quality, Fast, Features, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Bad Instructions
Mark Recommends This Chicago Pneumatic Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Mark,
All of Chicago Pneumatic's product information says this unit has a cast iron cylinder, so that's exactly the wording we use. I'll be happy to check with them to see if they've changed their product lineup, but as long as your unit has a cast iron cylinder they have delivered what they promised. The RCP series also has cast iron valve plates.

The oil weight should be covered in your Owner's Manual, but you are welcome to contact the folks at Chicago Pneumatic directly at (877) 861-2722 for advice on your specific situation.
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Garry W.
Greenville, OH
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/8/11
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not Plug & Play On This One
Almost every connection leaked and the drain valve was junk after one use. Other than that the unit is well built and has good pressure!

I don't know how much it weighs but moving around is very easy, it's very well balanced. I would consider this a good buy even with the pain of cleaning up CP's mess, maybe if this unit was one of their bigger units they would care.

ACD RESPONDS: Chicago Pneumatic is very concerned about it's quality standards; we will be sure to let them know this... more
Was this review helpful?
50
Paul N.
Orange, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/22/11
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great While Plugged In
The compressor is great if you want to have a portable compressor that needs to have the max pressure and maintain a pressure to run a real load.

I use it to grind, air hammer, nibbler, air ratchet and all the extra tools that I work with.

But to my surprise the pressure won't hold in the tank. So I have been checking and reconnecting all the fittings that leak. Seems like it would be easier for the supplier to put the fittings together so they won't leak and do test before they... more
Was this review helpful?
50
Keith Kamps
Brooklyn, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/2/11
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Built Compressor.
I haven't had much time with it yet but the little time I do have with it, it has impressed me and is built like a tank.

The unit is quiet & fills from empty fairly quick and keeps up with my all of my tools with no problem, the real test will be when I go to paint my motorcycle.

My only gripe is that the compressor was shipped without the handle bolts and the drain valve was defective, one call to Chicago Pneumatics and I had the replacement valve and handle bolts in two days.
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Paul H.
Victoria, TX
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/16/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Compressor
I replaced an old compressor cobbled together by my father-in-law 35 years ago. I had no idea a compressor was supposed to work this well.

Quieter, smaller footprint, and the compressor keeps up with the demand.
Oh, and the pump even shuts off by itself. I don't have to keep one eye on the pressure gauge.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Paul Recommends This Chicago Pneumatic Product
Paul's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very positive, overall. I called for a bit of help in making my decision."
 more
Was this review helpful?
62
Rick
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/20/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor!
Online ordering was easy, the company even called to verify my order and ship to address because I had it shipped to where I work.

The compressor even arrived before the expected arrival date. Looks to be a solid compressor and is a lot quieter than my old compressor. It builds pressure fast and holds pressure in the tank for a long time.

If I ever need another compressor, I would look at the same model again and buy from Air Compressors Direct again.
Was this review helpful?
30
Ed
Tucson, AZ
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 8/1/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pleased With The Quality
I couldn't be more pleased with this air compressor. The build quality is very good, with the only plastic pieces being covers for the fan and switch. The plastic is thick and sturdy. The metal pieces are also thick and sturdy, and I'm pleased with the quality of casting around the pump.

Noise levels while running are relatively low for a compressor of this style. Though I haven't measured it, I'd guess it's running less than 80 dB. When not running the tank seems to hold air pressure... more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Ed,
We are checking with the folks at Chicago Pneumatic for new product photos- thank you for letting us know!
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Joe W.
Crescent City, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 2/6/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product
Fast shipping. Only had it for a short time, but working better than expected. Nice compressor.
Pros: Quiet, Fast, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Top Heavy
Joe Recommends This Chicago Pneumatic Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Warren S.
Oxford, MI
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/22/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Product
Bought because of name and reputation, only dislike is main air hookup is right in way of handle.
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Cons: Bad Instructions, Expensive, Port For Air Is Right In The Way Of The Handle
Warren Recommends This Chicago Pneumatic Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Craig
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 4/20/14
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Recommendation, Fast Delivery!
This well built compressor is ideal for my one-man workshop. I went for it because it has a higher CFM than most compressors in its class and boy, does it deliver.

Of course I've only played with it for a day, so we'll see how well it stands up over time.
Pros: High Quality, Features, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Bad Instructions
Craig Recommends This Chicago Pneumatic Product
Craig's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I ordered it on Sunday and it arrived on Thursday. Fastest machine delivery I've ever received on an Internet purchase ... well done!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Caleb
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/9/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Customer
It's a very quiet, solid compressor and it fills at a good rate.

I'm a happy customer.
Was this review helpful?
31
Mike Rains
403 Baker Rd. Boaz, AL
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/26/10
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Service & Products
I received my air compressor about 2 weeks ago. My sons, grandsons, and I have used it many times.

I was concerned that it might receive a rough ride on the carrier getting to our farm, however, it arrived in perfect condition.

Thank you so much, and I will tell others about your great service and your products.
Was this review helpful?
20
Mark M
Fergus Falls, MN
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 2/13/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Updated Review From 2013 Purchase
I have a couple years on my compressor now, A friend of mine was looking for a compressor a couple weeks ago and I told him my success story with Air Compressors Direct.

I thought about my experience with this compressor and thought I would update it. I have had NO problems with holding pressure as others have indicated, or any other feature, for that matter.

My approach to cold weather usage (block heater on the compressor crankcase, now thermostatically controlled to turn on below... more
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Price
Mark Recommends This Chicago Pneumatic Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Mark,
Thank you for the update! The folks at Chicago Pneumatic have been building solid products for many years; it's good to know some things don't change.
more
Was this review helpful?
32
Craig
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 4/20/14
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
What's Not To Like?
I love this compressor. Great in between standard compressor.
However, don't do what I did and transport it on it's side.
I drained about a quarter of the compressor oil.
Next, contractor grade 15 amp breakers trip like a klutz on a tightrope. Amp up!
Craig Recommends This Chicago Pneumatic Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Mike K.
Denver, NC
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 4/29/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Well Made
Very nice compressor. Quiet and pumps up very quickly. Very well made. Would buy again.
Was this review helpful?
43
Jared L.
Richmond, CA
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice!
I love this new compressor. It's really quiet, fast, and the build quality is high. No rattles or cheap plastic parts to be found.

The delivery company was great and came on time and helped unload. No complaints there either!

The color of my compressor is different than the picture, so that should probably be updated. Doesn't matter to me or probably most people, but it was a surprise.
Was this review helpful?
10
Tim
Nashville, TN
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy!!
Good machine - good price - good service
Was this review helpful?
10
Bill P.
San Marcos, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 2/11/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's Like Runnin' A Scalded Dawg
I've been running this compressor for only a couple of weeks but it's working like a champ. It's like having a machine with a real ASME tank, so it was worth the wait and extra cost.

I made a couple of changes: the supplied v-belt was pretty tight- I know they get looser with use, but I didn't like the idea of running a new machine with an overtight belt, so I changed it out to a link belt (I used a Jason Industrial Accu-Link, but you could use a Fenner Power-Twist just as well), which gave... more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Bill,
Please be aware that any modification to your air compressor can void your Factory Warranty. We do not endorse any of the changes described above, and advise you to always follow the instructions in your Owner's Manual.

Please contact the folks at Chicago Pneumatic, toll free, at (877) 861-2722 with any questions you may have about the performance of your compressor.
more
Was this review helpful?
34
Tom Carius
Maywood, NJ
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/22/10
REVIEWED
NOV.
15
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Runs Nice
I haven't had a chance to use it much. It's easy to put together, and runs nice & quiet.
Was this review helpful?
02
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials