Your Cart @ Air Compressors Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Industrial Air ILA1883054 Portable - Vertical Air Compressor Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$639.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$639.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$639.99
(as of 06:12 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$813.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
Industrial Air ILA1883054 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (12)
Easy To Use (9)
Price (8)
I'd Buy It Again (8)
Easy To Store (4)
Cons
Durability (3)
Unreliable (2)
Expensive (1)
Tank Drain Is Awkward (1)
Tank Drain Is Too Close ... (1)
74% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
27 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Timothy V.
Eugene, OR
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
One Month After Warranty, Pump Seizes
One month and a week after warranty expires, and less than 12 hours total time on the unit, it seizes. Pulled the belt, tested motor, OK. Couldn't budge the flywheel by hand. Kept the unit oiled, never ran anything that should have caused overheating (like sandblaster or paint gun, DA sander, etc.).

So, I'm stumped, but I know it's either got to be a tear-down, parts chase and rebuild, or a $220 new pump assembly from these guys, (who DID NOT sell this unit to me, another source did, who... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Cons: Durability, Unreliable, top heavy
Timothy Does Not Recommend This Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Timothy,
I'm so sorry you're having issues with your air compressor. Our customers have done well with Industrial Air units; and they've been very good about helping out when needed. Their Factory Warranty covers defects in materials and workmanship for 1 year from the date of delivery for consumer use; 90 days for commercial use.
more
Timothy's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"I have yet to purchase from this source, but it seems that they stand behind their products, work with customers to help resolve issues, and are responsive. Pricing is competitive, shipping free. Hard to argue with that, so my next compressor purchase will be here."
 more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Timothy,
We'll do our best to earn your business!
Was this review helpful?
00
Tom R.
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 8/11/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
22
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Just Fine
I've been using this for my wood shop for about a year or more. Works just fine. I don't run any mechanics tools just mainly nail guns and I use it to blow dust off my machines, but it continually supplies enough air for whatever I've tried to use it for.

I am a one-man shop so I don't have experience running multiple tools at once, but from what I can tell the specs are accurate. No assembly required comes ready to plug in (110V) which is nice!

The only issue I had was the belt... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Cheap Belt Wore Away In First Month
Tom Recommends This Industrial Air Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Tom,
Thank you for the review. This is the first I have heard of such drastic belt wear. How cold was it in your shop? normally the compressor would pop a breaker before it will burn the belt up like that. We have a cryochamber in our test lab where we have tested these down in the -F range. We start to see problems when the temp gets down past 0. If you are working out there in sub zero temps you are one tough dude.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Don B.
Sarver, PA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/3/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
29
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Replacement Air
Delivery was fast and the driver really helped out.

Pleased with the operation although much weaker than the twin cylinder 60 gallon, but I knew that going in.

I'd buy again.
Don Recommends This Industrial Air Product
Was this review helpful?
11
David Gruszkowski
Ledyard, CT
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/14/13
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Built
I bought this Air Compressor largely because of the reviews I read, price, and features. It is heavy built and quiet.

This is my second Air Compressor in my lifetime, and I expect to hand it down. I like the upright design vs horizontal for space. The drain is very close to the floor. I will need to figure out how to easily drain routinely.

Well built unit that I believe most homeowner hobbyist and mechanics would appreciate.
Pros: Durable, Quiet
David Recommends This Industrial Air Product
David Would Recommend Air Compressors Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"I would have liked a little more information while waiting, (e.g. where in route the Compressor was). I had to call the shipping company and work out details with them. They met my expectations in the end."
 more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
David,
Thanks for the feedback. This item comes direct from the factory, so the communication from them sometimes isn't as good as it should be.
Was this review helpful?
121
Karen
Grand Junction, CO
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/11/13
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great For The Man Cave
My guy and I are in transition- we've moved and are trying to become settled in a different state. He brought a miniature Craftsman with him. He is an avid "Garage Guy", doing many projects for the car and house in the garage. He recently put a lift kit on the Jeep using his mini compressor. I was very impressed with his patience, waiting for "air".

I did over a month of research to find a solid portable air compressor that may fit his needs. I wanted to surprise... more
Was this review helpful?
113
Frank H.
The Woodlands, TX
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 6/1/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor
Great compressor that keeps up with my current air tools perfectly. Even running air intensive tools the pressure has yet to get below 100 psi which is great. Compared to a pancake compressor air tools have a new lease on life.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Air Hookup
Frank Recommends This Industrial Air Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Larry W.
Dayton, TX
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/26/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
It Broke Within A Week
Shopping experience was exceptional, good value, fast delivery. Only one problem, it broke within a week.

I saw where it was delivered with oil in it, and did the 35 minute run in with the valve open. Everything was great, runs quiet, aired up tires on lawn mower and wife car. Left it in auto to keep the pressure up and about 7 days later I come home from the golf course and my wife informs me a circuit is tripped in the garage. I finally isolated it to the compressor.

When I... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Quiet
Cons: Durability
Larry Does Not Recommend This Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Larry,
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience! I will contact our Industrial Air rep on this end and see if I can help move things along. If I need the contact info for the repair shop I will email you directly.

Your warranty began the day it was delivered; it is for 2 years of Consumer (not commercial) use and covers defect in materials and workmanship.
more
Was this review helpful?
83
Steve
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/9/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
As Expected
I finally received my compressor (I'll explain that below). When the shipping company (R&L) arrived and rolled up the back door of the truck, I see my new air compressor (still on the pallet) laying on it's side with a corner of the box stoved in. The driver and I opened the box and there was no damage done, thankfully, to the packaging.

I opened up the compressor and inspected all the bits. Everything looks tidy and clean. I performed the 30 minute break-in as documented and then ran it... more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Steve,
We apologize for the delay! An order stays in Processing until we can post the shipping information, only then do we collect payment and update the status to Shipped.

When we didn't receive a tracking number on your order by 5/17 we contacted the manufacturer, but didn't let you know we were checking (we should have- again, our apologies).

Your email from Sunday (5/19) was answered on Monday 5/20 during our normal business hours, and we asked the manufacturer to cancel your order- that was when your order status changed to Pending Cancellation.

The manufacturer told us on 5/21 that your order had already shipped; and we contacted you to let you know we weren't able to stop the shipment. Had the shipment been damaged you would have been able to refuse it.

This unit has a 2 year consumer-use Factory Warranty, so if you have any problems you can contact the folks at Industrial Air, toll free, at (888) 895-4549. Please be sure to have the serial number of the unit handy when you call, in case they ask for it.

We are also sending this information to you directly through your account.
more
Was this review helpful?
72
Scott S.
Highlands Ranch, CO
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/2/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
13
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Built Compressor
I received this compressor and it was packaged well. Got it out of the box and plugged it in. I did the break in for 30 minutes then closed up the valve and filled the tank.

I used it on some air tools on and off for about 45 min. No problems. I filled the tank up and unplugged it overnight. I came back out the next day and the pressure barely moved other than a few pounds of pressure.

It is fairly quiet compared to other brands. I am not piping and running a hose/filter off the tank. I... more
Was this review helpful?
61
Adam Johnston
Santa Monica, CA
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Motor Burns Out
I have had this compressor for a year in half now and it worked fine up until a month ago. It started taking longer to fill up and now the electric motor is blowing the breaker every time it gets to about 130PSI. The tank will not fill up all the way. The motor itself smells like it's burning a little. I called the manufacture and they said it's $300 for a new motor. A compressor should last more then a year so Im going with a thumbs down on this compressor. I am very disappointed that it broke... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability, Motor Burned Out After A Year
Adam Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
62
Scott O.
Castleton, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/20/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
23
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Took 4 Weeks To Ship
Works good.
Pros: Quiet, Price, Durable, High Quality
Cons: Drain Very Hard To Open
Scott Recommends This Industrial Air Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Scott,
You placed your order on Friday, 12/20 at 9 pm. We transmitted your order to Industrial Air the next business day, 12/23. Our web site says this order ships from the factory in 2 to 5 business days (Monday thru Friday, excluding holidays like New Year's Day).

Your order shipped from Industrial Air on 12/30- the 5th business day after they received your order; within their estimate. How long it takes the truck to reach you depends on the weather and road conditions- the truckers drive as fast as they safely can, and they may get holidays off.
more
Was this review helpful?
73
Greg D.
Lakewood Ranch, FL
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Compressor
I read many reviews about many air compressors before deciding upon a make/model that I hoped would be of high quality. Happily I can say that I'm very pleased with this model and believe it was a good decision. The majority of the reviews I read about this model were positive, and now I can add one more recommend to the mix.

The device performed perfectly right out of the box. It came well packed in a large cardboard box with styrofoam packaging material protecting it. There was no assembly... more
Was this review helpful?
73
Roy
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/10/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Meeting All My Needs
This compressor is meeting all my needs and is quieter than a pancake compressor I have had for years. I would recommend this to any part time do-it-yourselfer.

I have connected two 50 ft hose reels with 85 feet between them and it has no problems keeping up. I charged it up and left it overnight and it did not kick on until about 30 hours later. Amazing!
Was this review helpful?
41
James H.
Riverview, FL
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 6/23/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worked Fine For Everything
It arrived in a sturdy box attached to a pallet. After breaking it in, I fired it up. It took less than 6 minutes to go from 0 to max pressure.

It is quieter than the old pancake compressor I had. It held pressure overnight. So far it has worked fine for everything I have tried with it.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Fast
James Recommends This Industrial Air Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Bradford R.
Walla Walla, WA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/18/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tired Of Small Oil Free Compressors
I went through my last Ridgid which was good, but too small. This is much much quieter- very happy with the initial performance on it.

We have a small winery and it gets used for transmitting wine between different locations. It has worked very very well so far. It is exceptionally a quiet which is wonderful in a closed building.

I also purchased the extended warranty and thought the price was very fair.
Pros: Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use
Cons: builds Up To 150 If I Leave It Overnight It's Down To 135 Not Su
Bradford Recommends This Industrial Air Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Shawn F.
East Aurora, NY
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bought For Home Use
Works good for a 110 volt compressor.

No problems. Quiet.
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Light Weight, Fast
Cons: Tank Drain Is Awkward
Shawn Recommends This Industrial Air Product
Was this review helpful?
21
George H.
Huntersville, NC
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/3/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
05
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works And Looks Great!
I ordered online and was a little nervous about that, but it showed up in a well packed box/crate. It runs great and pretty quiet compared to others.

I've used it a lot over the last month and glad I made the right decision.
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Store, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
George Recommends This Industrial Air Product
George Would Recommend Air Compressors Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to talk to and very helpful. Thank you for a great experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Ray
Torrance, CA
REVIEWED
JUL.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Compressor
I ordered online and it arrived after about 2 1/2 weeks. The compressor arrived nicely packed with no damage. Fired it up and after the recommended break in period, it had no leaks.

Only time will tell how durable it is.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Ray Recommends This Industrial Air Product
Was this review helpful?
32
Larry T.
Moundsville, WV
REVIEWED
SEP.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Smooth Operation
After buying my air compressor I did a little re-pipeing on it!

I put a connection on it, by-passing the regulator so I could have full pressure air to blow off things without having to adjust the regulator.

I like to keep the regulator pressure set at 40LBS; that way I can connect up a spray gun to it and not fool with resetting the regulator.

Other than that I really like the smooth operation of it! I would buy it again!
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Larry,
We need to remind folks that any modification to the unit could void your Factory Warranty; please check the terms described in your Owner's Manual.
more
Was this review helpful?
32
Terry R.
Gasport, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/14/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Meets My Needs
My old compressor was on the way out so I decided to purchase a new one. Looking for a compressor that had a cast iron pump, that used oil and that was quiet.

I found one at Air Compressors Direct that met my needs and for a good price. Will see how it holds up.
Pros: Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Cons: The Petcock Is Hard To Get At
Terry Recommends This Industrial Air Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Kyle
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Rock Solid
Rock solid compressor in every way. Quiet, continuous-duty rated motor, excellent fan/pulley, and ducting to cool the compressor.

Really just a perfect little quality compressor! Shop around!
Was this review helpful?
22
Pete
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A+
Great compressor, A+. Runs very quiet.

Delivery as scheduled, right on time. Trucking firm gets an A+ as well.

Would order again from Air Compressors Direct.com
Was this review helpful?
11
Larry Thelander
Salina, KS
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/16/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Compressor Replacement
Needed to replace my old compressor, so decided to do an upgrade in size and quality.
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Cons: Tank Drain Is Too Close To The Floor
Larry Recommends This Industrial Air Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Damon L.
Orange, NJ
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 8/30/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Compressor
I originally purchased this unit to bring home to work around the house (bleed sprinkler system, etc.).

I have a 40 + year old 125 gallon compressor at my shop to run impact guns & air ratchets. It has a huge 220 volt electric motor. It still works fine,but when it runs the electric meter spins like a top. Once I ran my new compressor I was amazed at how quiet and powerful it is.

I built the pressure up to155 psi. let it sit over the weekend, and Monday am. it had lost 3-4 psi. I... more
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Bleed Petcock Difficult To Accesslarger Wheels Would He
Damon Recommends This Industrial Air Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Chris T.
Huntington Beach, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/5/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Easiest Compressor Purchase I Ever Made
Delivery was at a very good time. The condition was perfect. Hope to have years of use from it- thank you.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Quiet, Easy To Store
Chris Recommends This Industrial Air Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Ken B.
Atlanta, GA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/20/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
1st One Arrived Damaged; No Replacement
Ken Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
58
Libor T.
San Marcos, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/9/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect
Excellent piece for shop work and job site too.
Libor Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Libor,
Libor upon reading your review it cited this is an excellent choice for shop and Job site work. However it appears you do not recommend this product. Is there an issue that we can help resolve to change your review to a recommended buy?
more
Was this review helpful?
16
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials