Welcome |
Your Cart @ Air Compressors Direct Cart:
New Customers
Returning Customers
< Back to Product

Ingersoll Rand 2340L5.230-1 Two Stage Air Compressor Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$1,299.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$1,374.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Ingersoll Rand 2340L5.230-1 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Pros
Reliable (4)
Fast (3)
Quiet (3)
Price (2)
High Quality (2)
Cons
Bad Instructions (2)
Heavy (2)
Packaging (1)
Low Quality (1)
Terrible Company Followu... (1)
76% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
34 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Air Compressor Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
234 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
2741 Helpful Votes
Air Compressors Direct Recommended

Ingersoll Rand has been a quality name since your grandfather's time- with good reason. Since 1905 they have been building tools that stand the test of time.

This unit earned our Better rating because it has more features than our Good choice- and the price is, not surprisingly, higher.

What you get for the money is a durable, reliable air compressor with high efficiency valves, air filters, and intercooler; along with OSHA compliant housing on the flywheel, belt and motor sheave.

An... more
Steve Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
4117
Justin J.
Erwinville, LA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 2/18/11
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Compressor
I purchased this compressor 5 years ago. I use it in my shop for air tools and for painting. There is nothing I can't do with it.

Very happy and no issues at all with it.
Justin Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Was this review helpful?
31
John P.
Fort Washington, PA
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Certainly Not Commercial
Emerson motor shorted out after 4 years of light use. I thought I was getting good quality. The tank is good the two stage pump is good the Emerson motor is sub standard.
Was this review helpful?
93
Rio
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best Compressor I've Own!
I bought my IR 5-hp 60gallon from sears in 2005. It was a display model that was decommission and replace with a newer model!.. My garage is 100feet away from my service panel so I run a heavy duty 10 guage 3 wire extension cord to my garage where my IR is located!

this compressor start right up when it need to and has NOT failed me once in the last 10+ years of use! haven't change the oil or done anything to it.. I added and extra 60 gallon vertical tank for a total of 120 and its been... more
Pros: Reliable, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Rio Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Daniel R.
Hereford, TX
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/15/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Purchase
It was a great purchase. Everything I expected from this compressor.

Highly recommended it to a friend just the other day.
Daniel Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Daniel,
Thank you for recommending us!
more
Daniel's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Pretty much happy with the whole experience. The only thing I had to wait for was a confirmation of shipping information. After about a week of no updates I finally sent an email. I had a very quick response to my email and also received shipping info. I guess even though it takes a little while for that information, I would probably suggest some kind of confirmation or info just to keep a customers mind at ease. Thank You!"
 more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Daniel,
Thank you for your feedback. Our website says this ships from Ingersoll Rand in 2 to 5 business days (Monday thru Friday, excluding holidays). We sent the shipping information to you on the 5th business day. If your order didn't ship within that period we would have followed up with Ingersoll Rand and let you know what was going on. We don't collect payment until your order ships, so we watch the shipping dates very closely. We're always happy to hear from you, and it was no problem to check on your shipment for you!
Was this review helpful?
00
John W.
Atlantic, IA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/30/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Air Tools Are Much More Lively
The compressor arrived 12/8/2015 in great shape. Did not get it wired until 1/15/2016.

It works really good, it replaces a single stage Ingersoll Rand compressor that is 16 years old and still running.

Really enjoy the 2 stage as my air tools are much more lively.
John Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Mike
Mpls, MN
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/27/10
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Service
I got my Compressor today , Got it hooked up and running....

This "size" will serve me well...

I found the lowest price here...

It helps not paying Taxes or Shipping...

The Compressor was in perfect shape , everything was included...

including extra oil and extra air filters...

Very Satisfied with Air Compressors Direct !
.
.
Gotta Fly...
Mike & "Jaz" the Flying Dog
.
View Image
View Image
View Image
View Image
Was this review helpful?
149
Blaine
Arapaho, OK
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2010
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Bad Emerson Motors
I owned and used lightly for four years. Electric motor shelled. Ingersoll will not do anything. New motor $430!!! Had a $300
Craftsman 30 gallon doing same work for same time and it still runs. Do not waste your money on this brand. Just check forums
out and you will hear same story on Emerson motors and IR compressors.
Was this review helpful?
366
Pete
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/17/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
23 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Assembled In The Us
You advertise American made; the pump was made in India. I will never buy IR products again.
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Pete,
We advertise "Proudly built in the USA". This unit is assembled in the US from globally sourced components.

In order to qualify for "Made In The USA" at least 85% of the components need to be made in the US, and it needs to be built in the US. We sell units that meet those requirements, such as Quincy; however they tend to be more expensive than globally sourced units.
more
Was this review helpful?
236
Marvin A.
Deary, ID
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/20/15
Total Helpful Votes
23 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Never Again With Ped
Bought thru ebay, waited a strong week before shipped. Delivery excellent, appeared like all is well from outside. When opened drain in bottom of tank before running compressor at least a quart of water/oil came out. 2/3 oil 1/3 water.

Called ped they immediately pasted me off to ingersoll rand. Now ped has washed there hands clean and have nothing to do with item. Called ir and they will not replace it, just want to warranty what ever went wrong, yet they don't know what is wrong.

Just... more
Pros: Price
Cons: Terrible Company Followup On Both Counts
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Marvin,
We are sorry to hear of the issue you are experiencing with your Ingersoll Rand product. We would be happy to get one of our product experts involved to see if we can assist with a resolution. You will be hearing form one of our experts shortly.
more
Was this review helpful?
238
Jon
Camarillo, CA
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Motor Doesn't Last. .
I have owned this compressor for 5 years with minimal home use. The start capacitor went out 2 times. I call OR and talked to tech support and they where unable to help. The only choice I have is to spend $500 for a new motor...not much help..
Was this review helpful?
103
Ted
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/8/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Luck
Bought the compressor, it arrived shortly after. I read a few reviews stating poor instructions. That's where I must have gone wrong...forgot to read them. Seemed pretty easy to install without any.

I purchased the 230v 1ph unit. Unit works well.

My only complaint might be that it came without any oil in the compressor, nor did it come with any oil....but for $100+, you can buy a kit. Go to a chain store for the oil and the remaining $1000 worth of electrical conduit, wire, plumbing... more
Pros: Fast
Ted Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Was this review helpful?
92
Nick P.
Hemet, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/5/15
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Leaks Oil...
I ordered this compressor and it works great, aside from the fact that it leaks oil out of the fill plug... I tried to contact Air Compressors Direct, and they told me to call Ingersoll Rand... Not very happy... Guess I'll keep adding oil every week. Great customer service...
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Nick,
If it's a manufacturer-related issue, it's most efficient to contact the manufacturer. We don't do repairs here, so we'd follow the same procedure of contacting the manufacturer and acquiring the part(s). Then we'd send the part(s) to you. This could take quite a while.

Therefor, we recommend you contact the manufacturer directly so they can send the part(s) straight to your home or suggest a local authorized repair shop to take it for repair under warranty.

We simply want to do what's best for you in this situation, which is to have you directly contact Ingersoll Rand's customer support line at (630) 530-3843 and let them know what's going on.
more
Was this review helpful?
116
Mike J.
Yuma, AZ
REVIEWED
FEB.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
I have had mine for 2+ years now and absolutely love it. It has not had a single issue.

The quality is awesome, it's powerful, quiet and durable. One of the best power tool investments I ever made.
Was this review helpful?
72
William J.
Rustburg, VA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 2/25/15
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bill J
Just got My compressor on 3/5/2015 and installed it. It works great - no problems.
Pros: Reliable, Price, Fast, Quiet
Cons: Bad Instructions
William Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
William,
Thank you for taking the time to review our product!
more
Was this review helpful?
106
Allen T.
Pueblo West, CO
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/15/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
08
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Questionable Assembly
Fine except the drain valve reducer had been damaged during install. I had to remove the reducer, tap the port and replace the valve with a new fitting. Not what I expect from a highly reputable brand.

The pump check valve seems to be leaking by allowing the system to loose pressure when not in use, this is a great waste of energy. My only question is how it passed a pressure test.
Pros: Quiet, Reliable
Cons: Low Quality
Allen Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Allen,
Your air compressor has a 1 year Factory Warranty from the folks at Ingersoll Rand- please give them a call, toll free, at (800) 866-5457 so they can address the performance issues you're experiencing. Be sure to have the serial number of your air compressor handy when you call them.

We appreciate your business, and apologize for any inconvenience!
more
Was this review helpful?
52
Leo
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 2/18/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Hard Time Wiring It In
Come to find out this particular compressor has a motor that is notorious for breaking, mostly due to over-powering the wiring for it.

I had to wire my own plug and whip on the compressor itself, still haven't wired 230v outlet for it in the garage, so I have yet to see how it performs.

I have however had a heck of a time trying to figure out how exactly to wire it, figured out that 10-2 wire is needed with a 30a 2 pole breaker and 30a/2p/3w plug and receptacle.

As far as shipping... more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Leo,
If the Owner's Manual doesn't have all the information you need, you can always call the folks at Ingersoll Tech Support, toll free, at (800) 866-5457.

The Factory Warranty covers your air compressor for 1 year from the day it was delivered. This should be plenty of time to reveal any defects in materials or workmanship- but improper wiring would not be covered.

Ingersoll Rand does not use any refurbished parts on their new units. Components are painted to match each unit's color scheme, but they are all new parts.
more
Was this review helpful?
74
Paul B.
Brenham, TX
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/24/11
REVIEWED
NOV.
14
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's A Jewel
My Ingersoll Rand 60gal compressor arrived about ten days after the order was placed. It arrived on an eighteen wheeler. This prevented the driver from being able to drive up to the house. I used a tractor to carry it the 100 yards to my shop. Not a big deal, but it was kind of annoying because i payed the lift gate fee. This will be a problem for anyone who can't accommodate a large truck. Once you have it on a concrete surface it can easily be "walked" into place by one man.
more
Was this review helpful?
41
Michael H.
Sheridan, AR
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/30/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor
I would do it all again if need be.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Fast, High Quality
Cons: Heavy
Michael Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Michael's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Couldn't ask for a better experience, The hardest thing was stabbing the ground wire screw and I would say that is a good thing."
 more
Was this review helpful?
64
Curt K.
Greely, IA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/25/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
It's Working
I haven't used this air compressor enough to say anything about it besides it came leaking from the little pipe between the tank and presser reg. I'm sure it was damaged from shipping.

I put on a new pipe and it's good as new. Updates on performance later.
Cons: Packaging
Curt Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Karl W.
Tracy, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 4/4/13
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
I love this compressor. Of course I'm basing it off my experience with a 20 year old Sears Craftsman that's as loud as a Speed Boat.

Shipping wasn't as quick as I would have liked, but packaging was fine. It's quiet enough for me too.
Was this review helpful?
42
Michael
Gandeeville, WV
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/26/10
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2010
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Air Filter Damaged
I received the air compressor 4/16/10 after the carrier missed two appointments. The air cleaner is damaged; the damage was not visible at delivery.

I called Air Compressors Direct and was told a replacement air filter would be sent. I can't use it until it arrives. I will continue this review when I can use it.

ACD RESPONDS: The folks at Ingersoll have already ordered a replacement air filter for you.We sent the request to Ingersoll the same day you contacted us on 4/23; it took a few... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Ger
REVIEWED
SEP.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor.
Bought mine in 2003......it was in a sealed box and came with oil and instructions.
It had a problem with the pressure switch last year, but a replacement on eBay was overnighted and the compressor was back in business quickly.

Due to having only single phase power, I made sure it was situated next to the electric panel and have never had trouble with the motor or starting capacitors.I'd buy another 5-HP IR compressor in a minute!
Ger Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Bruno D.
Union City, NJ
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 6/27/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Compressor
I bought this compressor because it's a good quality.
Bruno Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bruno,
Thank you for taking the time to review our product! Your opinion matters to us and we are glad that you are satisfied with the quality of our compressor.
more
Was this review helpful?
21
Steve Tross
Lososos, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/12/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ingersoll Rand 5-hp 60-gallon Two-stage Air Compressor (230v 1-phase) Review
I like Ingersoll Rand compressors. I have one in my shop truck, its 15 years old service only 3 times and same drive belt.

This new one for the shop I like very much, so far no problems. The only thing that I don't like is the drain cock at the bottom.

I think that a 90 degree drain valve would be better than the screw type that it comes with. I well be changing that soon, other than that it is a very good compressor so far

Steve
Was this review helpful?
43
Karl B.
Dubuque, IA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/4/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Some Issues At First
Well, I get it uncrated and oiled up, come to find out there is a hole in the pump casting. Also the ball valve is defective from the get go.

I found a servicing dealer approx 50 miles away and they replaced the pump since the part that is defective was back-ordered until October. So far, so good!

Many kudos to the service center that got me up and going again, A-L-L equipment in Moline, Illinois.
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Karl,
Ingersoll Rand tests each unit before it leaves their factory- we are so sorry this one got by their inspection! We are glad the warranty service folks took good care of you.
more
Was this review helpful?
54
Michael Murphy
Gandeeville, WV
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/26/10
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2010
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Thanks, Ir
I am continuing my review.for the 2340l5 air compressor.

Two days after the first review I received the air filter assembly. At start-up I noticed air hissing- there was a 1/4 " plug missing from the regulator switch, so I put one in it.

I've been using it for a week now, and it works real well so far.

Ingersoll Rand was helpful getting the replacement air filter assembly to me quickly- THANKS IR.

I am also using All-season Select oil.
Was this review helpful?
21
Colin Rigsby
Haslet, TX
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 8/9/10
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2010
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Air For Smoking Pipe Maker
Overall the compressor fills my needs completely. It runs the blast cabinet well and is very easy to use.

The motor is fairly quiet and the compressor builds up pressure quickly. The only issue is the manual - it stinks. For the compressor ignorant, it is a job trying to figure out the details of wiring, connections, etc.

Overall a nice compressor for a fair price.

I blast briar wood - I am a smoking pipe maker. It runs the cabinet well with continuous use and delivers the minimum... more
Was this review helpful?
22
Ken
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 6/24/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Maintenance Mechanic For Rr
Takes several weeks to deliver, but the compressor arrived well packaged and in good shape. Set up was no problem.

I opted for lift gate service which worked out great. It's the compressor I wanted and I have no complaints.
Was this review helpful?
01
Kenneth R.
Rehoboth, MA
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Quality & Delivery
I received my air compressor and find it of excellent quality and the delivery service was also excellent.

I would recommend this product and Air Compressors Direct to my friends and others. I am looking forward to more and more projects including painting the car that I am restoring with my new compressor.

Thank you for your great service.
Was this review helpful?
01
Donald
Scottsville, KY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 6/24/10
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Compressor Performance
I have been using air powered tools for over fifty years and am very pleased with the Ingersoll Rand I purchased from Air Compressors Direct.

It works just fine, I think it will be a little more efficient after it gets broke in, it provides all the air I need.

The service from this supplier is very satisfactory.
Was this review helpful?
01
Bill
La Jolla, CA
REVIEWED
MAR.
25
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Problems
I received on time, tracking the shipment was easy, the lift gate truck slid it off into the garage- no problems.
Was this review helpful?
01
Jay Greene
Grand Rapids, MI
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/27/10
REVIEWED
MAR.
05
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Air Compressors Direct.com Is The Best
If you are looking for a company that provides professional, low cost, on-time service- don't look any farther...

My compressor was delivered on time and out-performs my expectations.

Thank you, Air Compressors Direct.
Was this review helpful?
12
Kristin P.
Eureka, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 6/15/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Shipping & Driver Fantastic. Packaging Exceptional
I haven't had a chance to wire my compressor yet. I found no wiring instructions. Also, I found 2 wires instead of 3 which is needed for 220v. Can you please email me instructions.
Pros: Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Cons: Bad Instructions
Kristin Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Kristin,
You can find a link to the owner's manual here...Ingersoll Rand 2340L5.230 Owner's Manual

We always suggest having a certified electrician install a compressor like this if you're unfamiliar with electrical systems.
more
Was this review helpful?
04
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials