Welcome |
Your Cart @ Air Compressors Direct Cart:
New Customers
Returning Customers
< Back to Product

MAXair C5160V1-MAP Single Stage Air Compressor Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$1,199.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$1,299.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,249.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
MAXair C5160V1-MAP Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (3)
High Quality (3)
Easy To Use (2)
Durable (1)
Reliable (1)
Cons
Packaging (2)
Unreliable (1)
Loud (1)
A Little Loud (1)
75% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
12 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Brock C.
Ignacio, CO
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/13/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Upgrade
I picked this up after I bought a blast cabinet and my existing 110 compressor couldn't even remotely keep up (shock). I'd wanted a 220 unit for some time and this one got really good reviews.

We're at 6700' so you don't get anywhere near advertised CFM, but even then, the only thing we've found that will outrun this compressor is my buddy's super cheap, air hog d/a. It outpaces his HVLP, his inline sander, my die grinder, while porting heads, even my blast cabinet.

Also a plus are the... more
Brock Recommends This MAXair Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard R.
Bonita, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/31/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Ok For The Price
I bought this compressor mainly to run a Trinco media cabinet which is rated a 15scfm at 90 psi. The compressor cannot keep up. It will only keep a constant 60psi. It seems to vibrate a good deal so I had to make a brace for the fan/belt cage. 1 of the air filter just broke off. I guess from shipping.

Its fairly quiet and seems to build air fast. I guess you get what you pay for.
Richard Does Not Recommend This Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Richard,
This unit has a 2 year Factory Warranty from the folks at MAXair. Please give them a call at 800-551-2406 to let them know the issues you're having so they can remedy them.

Please also have the serial number of your unit handy when you call them; they may ask for it.

We appreciate your business, and apologize for any inconvenience.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Richard,
We stand behind what we sale. If there is a problem please contact us at 1-800-551-2406 and we will work through the problem with you. The one air filter comes unattached because of shipping. This is a 50% duty cycle compressor and what ever you're using it for can not exceed 18.5 CFM. Thank you for purchasing our product and we are here to help you in anyway we can.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ken
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Maxair 18.5 60 Gallon
I've had this compressor for nearly 4 years, Very pleased, did loose the oil out of the oil filled gauge after 3 years....other than this, it has required normal maintenance and has been totally reliable.
Was this review helpful?
100
Mike E.
Morrow, OH
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/11/13
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Research Pays Off
After doing extensive research on the internet, I concluded that this compressor was the best match for my needs.

Boy, did that turn out to be true. I was very surprised to find out that it was a LOT quieter than I had ever expected. My little Craftsman that I replaced was far louder.

I personally spoke with Steve and he really does know his stuff. If this model isn't quite what you may need, be assured that he knows what model you do. He's very informed on the quality, price, and... more
Was this review helpful?
81
Vincent A.
Byfield, MA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/8/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Choice
i like this compessor! it has all the power i need and is not that loud in my small garage, pipe it in, power it and thats it.

i thought the the shipping was fast for a tool of this size, and the price was better than the box stores.

i would also add that the service rep was very helpful in his knowlege of this and some other brands i was considering.
Was this review helpful?
81
Frank
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/12/13
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Builds Air Fast
Great product for the price, builds air fast and delivers all the cfm's I need for small work shop using sand blasters, spray guns, and all air tools
Was this review helpful?
104
Jack I.
Peabody, MA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/16/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pretty Impressive Machine
Right out of the crate I used it for sandblasting- it kept up no problem.

After a few uses the smell of burning paint went away, other than that it worked fine. Hooking up the electrical was very simple except one of the terminals stripped out while tightening.

I would recommend this compressor to a small shop or home hobbyist.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: A Little Loud
Jack Recommends This MAXair Product
Jack Would Recommend Air Compressors Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"A simple phone call got the answers I needed. I went online and ordered the compressor, and had it a week later; no problems. It arrived undamaged and was crated very well."
 more
Was this review helpful?
61
James
Sterling, VA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 8/26/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pleasantly Surprised, And Yes- The Stickers Come Off
After a month of research I decided on an IR compressor and called to place an order. When I told the sales rep what I wanted he asked if I had looked at this model as it won't come up in the search sometimes. Well that threw me in circles and had me second guessing my own research, and told him I would look into it and call back. He did not pressure me in to a sale right then and appreciated that.

After not sleeping on it decisions like this keep me going back and forth so I just jumped in.... more
Pros: Price, Fast, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
James Recommends This MAXair Product
Was this review helpful?
51
James M.
Baden, PA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/31/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great For All Home Needs....and Some!
On arrival, seemed OK. Started cutting plastic and tearing apart wood frame and noticed the tank pressure gauge was snapped off inside the threads, an intake filter was all smashed up, and there was oil all over the front of the tank. Luckily it was fairly simple to drill out and extract the pressure gauge out and replaced with an old Campbell Hausfeld gauge lying around.

Aside from all that dilemma... transporting to basement was fun... actually wasn't too bad after I removed the... more
Pros: High Quality, Features, Easy To Use, Quiet
Cons: Packaging
James Recommends This MAXair Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
James,
We appreciate your comments, but there are some details I want to clear up for anyone reading this review:

We ask that you inspect your shipment (at least look under the plastic) before you sign off on the delivery. If it's damaged you can refuse the shipment or put a note on the shipping papers so a damage claim can be filed and the unit repaired (Factory Warranties don't cover shipping damage).

If you find concealed damage and don't have a bench full of parts to work from, you have a very short period of time to file a Concealed Damage claim with the shipping company- days, not weeks- and get your air compressor repaired.

We also suggest having a certified electrician hook up your air compressor- waiting to see if the wiring will catch on fire isn't the most efficient proof of performance.
more
Was this review helpful?
52
Chris S.
Amsterdam, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/9/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor
So far I'm very happy with this compressor. The build quality is better than I expected, except for the two piece belt guard. The rear shroud is securely bolted to the compressor, however the vertical cuts that allow it to be installed without removing the pulleys cause it to vibrate significantly during operation.

An improved belt guard design along with inlet silencers would make this the perfect compressor.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Loud
Chris Recommends This MAXair Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Chris,
You might want to give the folks at EMAX a call, toll free, at (866) 294-4153 to see if they have any suggestions for for securing the rear shroud.

Please be sure to have the serial number of your compressor handy in case they ask for it.
more
Chris Would Recommend Air Compressors Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great experience! Would definitely recommend to a friend."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Bill R.
Midlothian, TX
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 2/18/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy
Price is right and free delivery to the house. Compressor is quiet and it delivers great performance. 18.5 cfm at 100psi will work any tool in most garages or shops.
Bill Recommends This MAXair Product
Bill's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"If we didn't have 2 ice storms in one week, the compressor would have been here 5 days earlier. Shipping was quick and lift gate delivery was included."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Joe H.
Lehighton, PA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/13/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
05
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Last Inspection Leaving Factory, Inspected By "r" Ronda, Bad New
First compressor shipped on time great! The very first run I had a leaking weld on the leg! Called got a new machine in a week! This time Wires where reversed on the hook switch no big deal. First start of the second compressor, again leaking now at the drain! Looks bent not heavy duty, just a little dinky drain valve.

I'm not sure if its the way it was shipped package or just over looked again at the factory. Overall the machine is nice. But I'm gonna have to steal parts from the... more
Cons: Unreliable, Packaging
Joe Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
13
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials