Welcome |
Your Cart @ Air Compressors Direct Cart:
New Customers
Returning Customers
< Back to Product

ProForce VPF1080318 Hot Dog Air Compressor Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Shipping$149.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$149.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
ProForce VPF1080318 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (10)
Price (5)
Easy To Store (5)
Fast (3)
Exceeded Expectations (3)
Cons
Durability (1)
The Hose Is Too Fragile ... (1)
Wee Bit Noisy (1)
It A Little Heavier Than... (1)
Low Quality (1)
93% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
24 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Air Compressor Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
234 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
2740 Helpful Votes
Air Compressors Direct Recommended

This compressor earned our Best slot due to it's heavier-duty construction, larger tank, and the extra value kit that comes with it.

It is still a light-duty unit, best at keeping the tires on your car, motorcycle, or ATV at the correct pressure for the best gas mileage.

An inflation needle will keep your basketballs & volleyballs bouncing; and the rubber feet will cut down on noise & vibration.
Steve Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
5515
Laurence J.
Fort Collins, CO
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/30/13
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Good Purchase
i bought this unit so I could keep my motorcycle's tires properly inflated. Perfect for the job.

A bit loud during operation but earplugs are an easy fix.
Laurence Recommends This ProForce Product
Laurence's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"i like PED!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Joseph S.
Tequesta, FL
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/12/16
REVIEWED
APR.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor
Very pleased with the compressor. Attachments that come with it, hose etc, will get you started but you will want to buy new ones of better quality.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Cheap Attachments
Joseph Recommends This ProForce Product
Was this review helpful?
21
William L.
Golden, CO
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/5/13
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Decent Air Compressor For The Price
This is a nice little air compressor for the price. Don't expect to blow out your sprinkler system or run most air tools on it as it doesn't have the capacity- but again it wasn't meant to. It works great for keeping tires inflated and blowing the kids toys up.

I also like the air gun except the one that comes in the kit is of poor quality and mine leaked. But you can pick up a decent air gun online for about $6. Speaking of the kit most of the items are like the air gun (poor quality)... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store
William Recommends This ProForce Product
Was this review helpful?
151
Paul H.
Carmichael, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/5/13
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
31
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Poor Documentation
I bought this primarily to inflate our tires.

Since there were NO instructions about the attachments, it took me awhile to figure out what to attach to which in order to attempt to inflate a tire.

Of course it would be great if there were an in-line gauge as there is at the gas station, but I knew this didn't have such.

However, when I TRIED to inflate a tire, NO AIR WOULD COME and was only succeeding in DEFLATING the tire!

I finally reasoned that the PRESSURE in the tank was too... more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Paul,
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience! We checked the Internet for a downloadable manual and were not able to locate one for you. We try to post manuals on our product pages whenever possible.

Please give the folks at Pro-Force Tech Support a call, toll free, at (888) 895-4549 to answer any questions you may have, and have a manual sent out to you. Please also have the serial number of your compressor handy when you call in case they ask for it.
more
Was this review helpful?
163
Paul
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 2/18/13
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very, Very Happy
I had to replace a portable Campbell Hausfeld Hot Dog Air Compressor that served me well for a few years, for basic tasks like brad nailing, dust blowing and tire inflating. I liked if for low noise and light weight.

However, I was sometimes hoping it could provide more volume and pressure (for high pressure bicycle tires). After a few months of using the ProForce VPF1080318, I feel I found the perfect replacement.

It is my second happy purchase at Air Compressors Direct.
Was this review helpful?
132
Jesse P.
Tucson, AZ
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/8/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
08
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Quality Not As Expected
I've had this compressor for a couple of months now. It works fine, though it is a little slow and loud to fill the tank. Pressure is lost from the tank a rate of about 50 PSI a day, so even if I just want to fill a bike tire, I have to turn on the compressor every time - quite annoying.

The cheaper compressor that my Dad got from a chain store holds pressure much better. The air hose only comes with enough fittings to use one of the two attachments that the compressor comes with, so I... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Light Weight
Cons: Low Quality, Quick Loss Of Pressure
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Jesse,
Your air compressor has a 1 year Factory Warranty through the folks at Pro-Force. Please give them a call, toll free, at (888) 895-4549 so they can address the leak you are experiencing. Please also be sure to have the serial number of your unit handy when you call them.

We appreciate your business, and apologize for any inconvenience!
more
Was this review helpful?
92
Stephen E.
Tucson, AZ
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/11/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Than Expected
It was easy to set up and the auto power off when the tank is full and the auto restart is great.

It works better than I expected- I took out the spare tires in both cars and they inflated quickly. Had an old tankless pump which took a long time to fill up car tires.

You just have to make sure to use the Thread Sealant when you attach the pieces or the air will leak out.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, Fast
Stephen Recommends This ProForce Product
Was this review helpful?
82
Stephen E.
Tucson, AZ
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Waited To Write A Reveiw
Purchased back in September after my small portable inflator died. I wanted something with more power to blow up my car tires and do a quicker job then the old inflator I had and this compressor worked great.

I went out and purchased some more attachments for the unit to blow up pool inflatables etc. It works great, my kids loved how fast it blew up their pool toys. No more hand pump needed to blow up the pool inflatables and the kids are not standing and waiting anymore.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Fast
Cons: It A Little Heavier Than Expected But Ok
Stephen Recommends This ProForce Product
Was this review helpful?
72
Robert C.
Encinitas, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/2/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Home Compressor
Good product, solidly built, shipping and packaging were great.

Wee bit noisy, but what compressors aren't?

Good all around medium duty compressor.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Features, Easy To Store
Cons: Wee Bit Noisy
Robert Recommends This ProForce Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Maurice C.
Tolland, CT
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/17/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
No More Flat Tires
Did the job.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Price, Light Weight
Maurice Recommends This ProForce Product
Maurice Would Recommend Air Compressors Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Good purchase."
 more
Was this review helpful?
51
Dan F.
Bel Air, MD
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/21/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
11
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Light Duty Unit
Good unit for inflation purposes. Shipped quick, would recommend.
Dan Recommends This ProForce Product
Was this review helpful?
52
Ron G.
Maricopa, AZ
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Little Hot Dog With Big Dog Power
I only needed a small compressor to fill a slow leak tire on our car. The pro Force is so much more.

I can fill the compressor, and put it in the trunk of the car and have air for many different things in the field where
there is no electric. It is light weight and small enough to put in the trunk of the car.

I had to call customer service to ask about a coupling on my pro force and they sent one to me right away. This was service that
is rare these days.

The service I... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Linda F.
Greeneville, TN
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/8/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Efficient, Courteous Service
Nice unit for the price.
Linda Recommends This ProForce Product
Linda's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Nice product. A part had bent in the manufacturing process, and couldn't be noticed until the box was opened and we examined the unit. The customer service staff was very courteous and helpful in locating the new replacement part and sending it out. I'm sure this doesn't occur often, so if and when it does, they are great to communicate with."
 more
Was this review helpful?
42
E.j.
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/24/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Little Compressor
I got tired of the cigarette lighter compressors or borrowing a real compressor so I sprung for this 3 gallon unit and have been using it for a couple of weeks. So far I love it.

It is actually much quieter than those underpowered cigarette lighter models with all of the benefits of a real compressor. I am using it for many things that I didn't realize I'd be using it for. The accessory kit, while workable, is not the highest quality stuff but that is easily remedies with a quick trip to... more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
E.j.,
We are so sorry your picture didn't upload; it may have been larger than our system allows (2 MG).
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Jim B.
Golden, CO
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/23/13
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Neat Air Compressor!
I was very cautious about firing up my new compressor. I read all the manual, looked closely at precautions and, finally plugged it in.

It works fine and efficiently but very noisy! I guess all of them are, and this one is just the ticket for me.
Was this review helpful?
20
Dan
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 2/17/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Seems Good For Small Projects
I've had this only a short time. It arrived with bent air filter housing. I called and they sent a replacement part expeditiously.

I have used it only a couple of times; it seems good for small projects. It walks around the floor when running. It's not quiet, but compressors aren't.

It seems to fit the bill for what I need - tires, blowing out moving parts, dust, etc.
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Dan,
If you can set the compressor on a piece of neoprene or rubber (old mouse pads work well!) it will quiet things down and keep the walking to a minimum.
more
Was this review helpful?
42
Laurence J.
Fort Collins, CO
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/30/13
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good For Vehicles!
Glad I have this for keeping car and motorcycle tires properly inflated. Money well spent!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store
Laurence Recommends This ProForce Product
Laurence Would Recommend Air Compressors Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Easy buy."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Larry W.
Bismarck, ND
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/10/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor
Is an excellent compressor.
Larry Recommends This ProForce Product
Was this review helpful?
55
Stephen N.
Wells, MN
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/8/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Little Unit
Nice little unit. As I said above, the hose should be constructed with some heavier duty material. The first one I had began leaking at the connector point to the tank. I found a replacement at a local chain store with no problem.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Fast, High Quality
Cons: Durability, The Hose Is Too Fragile And Needs Some Reinforcement
Stephen Recommends This ProForce Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Robert W.
Richwood, OH
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/6/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just What I Needed!
I wanted an air compressor fro small jobs. This fills the bill.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Robert Recommends This ProForce Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Craig P.
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/6/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far... Very Satisfied
I searched a number of vendors, including the large DIY warehouse stores and really couldn't find what I wanted. Air Compressors Direct had the product I wanted at the best price.

The compressor works great so far (3 weeks). I use it exclusively around my small ranch to blow out sprinklers, blow up tractor, truck, and lawn mower tires.

I haven't tried it with air tools yet, but expect it will do just fine for smaller tools. Air Compressors Direct never sent a shipping notice, but the... more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Craig,
Status emails were sent to the email address you entered on 10/6, 10/8, and 10/15. Please check your Junk Mail folder to see if the notices wound up there.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
David C.
Webster, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/23/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Recommended
The compressor arrived in good condition with accessories-I had to change these to my 'M' model couplers.

The unit runs well and achieves pressure quickly; it is a bit noisier than my previous compressor by Sanford.

All in all, very satisfactory- I can recommend it.
Was this review helpful?
00
Rick J.
Bedford, NH
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/21/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Equipment For The Price
The compressor was delivered promptly. The equipment was easy to assemble and works well.

It is a great compressor for the back yard mechanic or home projects.

A great piece of equipment for the price.
Was this review helpful?
22
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials