Welcome |
Your Cart @ Air Compressors Direct Cart:
New Customers
Returning Customers
< Back to Product

Puma PK-5020 Portable - Horizontal Air Compressor Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$599.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$599.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Puma PK5020 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Durable (2)
Exceeded Expectations (2)
High Quality (2)
Easy To Use (2)
Reliable (1)
Cons
None (1)
Heavy (1)
75% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
14 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Stephen B.
Ashland, MA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/3/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Nice And Quiet...but....
I purchased the PK5020 DEC 2013....Motor has always run well .....But the tank has developed 8 - 10 pin holes ....And yes I have an automatic draining system AND a manual ball valve drain that both work fine.

Called ACD and was told call Puma and was told sorry but your out of luck...I even offered to buy a replacement tank...But they are made in Taiwan (oh now I get It) and for a replacement tank it would be as much as buying a new compressor......
Stephen Does Not Recommend This Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Stephen,
I am sorry your air tank developed pin holes; I understand your frustration. Everything we sell has a Factory Warranty against defects in material and workmanship, so during the warranty period we refer folks to the Factory. If there are issues where we can work with the manufacturer to assist we are happy to- but unfortunately we can't make them extend their warranty.

To help with situations like yours, extended warranties sold by a separate company are now available for products over $100, but we didn't have access to them when you bought your unit in 2013.

We sell replacement air receivers but so far we haven't been able to source any with wheels as a direct replacement for yours- we will keep looking!

We appreciate your business, and sincerely apologize for your disappointment.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Stan
Montgomery, MI
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/16/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Key Went Out
We used the compressor about two hours and it began to make a strange noise. Upon checking, the drive pulley was loose and wallowed out.

The key had come out allowing the pulley to slip on the motor shaft. The set screw also dug into the shaft. I had another pulley that fit so we are able to use it. The key lay in the bottom of the guard.
Stan Does Not Recommend This Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Stan,
This unit comes with a 1 year Factory Warranty from the folks at Puma. While calling them as soon as you had the problem 10 months ago would have been best, your Factory Warranty is good until 1/6/16.

You may want to give the folks at Puma a call at (901) 744-7979 for any parts you need. Please have the serial number of the compressor handy when you call- they will ask for it. You can print a copy of your invoice if you need one, by using the My Account link in the upper right corner of our webpage and following the prompts.

We appreciate your business and apologize for any inconvenience!
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Steve
Brooklyn, NY
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Reviews Prior To Purchase
When I bought my Puma compressor, there weren't any reviews to advise me. Still, I collected information about all the compressors in this size category and decided that the Puma was the best value AND quality.

I'm not cheap but I need the best at a great value. I compared many compressors obsessively: the pumps, the motors, 120/220volt systems, CFM's, PSI, cast iron-aluminum and aluminum-iron sleeved motors, tanks, regulators, etc...

The resounding answer (at least on paper) was this... more
Was this review helpful?
101
Tim
Bothell, WA
REVIEWED
FEB.
12
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Machine
I bought one of these compressors close to 7 years ago.

It hasn't failed me yet... It has been able to keep up with all my air tools: texture hopper, random orbital sander, sand blaster, various nailers and smaller pneumatic tools.

I highly recommend this machine.
Was this review helpful?
81
Steve
Brooklyn, NY
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Updated-two Years Later
I started painting with an HVLP after many requests for customers to paint. It can barely keep up, and needs to rest every few minutes during continual use, which is to be expected for this size compressor.

Now, that's nearly the only reason I've given it a 4-star rating. The other is that the drain valve is difficult to reach, and even if you reach it, it's still impossible to get anything to collect the water under there. That said, I have no other qualms.

I wrote the review on this... more
Was this review helpful?
51
Randy H.
Hobe Sound, FL
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 6/7/11
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Puma #5020
I purchased this for my work and home use. I have now owned it for two years and I have not had a second of trouble from it. This is a very high quality product and I am sure it will last many years.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: Heavy
Randy Recommends This Puma Product
Randy's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Web site is easy to use and fast delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Peter
Miami, FL
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 6/3/10
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Made & Solid
This is a great compressor! Very well made and solid.

I will use it at my home garage to service my vehicles and some customers vehicles.

I am an A.S.E. certified mechanic and I do a lot of side jobs from my home. I am sure I will get many good years of service from this compressor.
Was this review helpful?
41
Robert M.
Los Osos, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/22/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Puma - Well Made!
This compressor is very well made, solid, with heavy gage metal used foir the motor/compressor plate and the pulley/belt guard. Big two horse motor that I just finished wiring for 220V, much quieter than the old Speedaire, it's replacing. Made in Taiwan and a much better manufacturing base than China, any day! This is a quality unit at a very reasonable price.
Robert Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Willie
New Braunfels, TX
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 8/26/10
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Good
I haven't used it a whole lot yet, I pretty much just got it.

I am a carpenter and used it for my nail guns to re-roof my house. Worked great.
Was this review helpful?
31
R. H.
Hampton, FL
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great For The Money
I haven't had this very long (I've run it for about an hour) but it appears to be a well made machine and runs smooth.

The fit and finish on the externals is very good and only time will tell on the internals.

It is portable but will most likely reside in my shop. I have a smaller oiless for transporting....seems great for the money.
Was this review helpful?
20
Owen P.
Walnut Creek, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 8/13/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Puma Compressor
My son and I started looking at 20 compressors and finally narrowed it down to the Puma Key for us was the 110 power. Although 220 is not a problem in our garage we were concerned about using it in other locations and liked the flexibility of 110 power.

The compressor arrived within the week, well package on a skid. Assembly took 10 minutes and then a trip to the hardware store for a quart of non detergent 30 weight oil. The compressor is quiet reaches its designated pressure quickly and is... more
Owen Recommends This Puma Product
Owen's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"We found the comparisons on the web site very helpful. We started with about 20 compressors and quickly got it down to about 5 considerations. If I ever decide to get another compressor I'd use Air Compressors Direct again. I like the fact that they also sell support products for your compressor."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
R.h. Mckenzie
Starke, FL
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Puma Compressor
I have had this for a couple years now and it is a well built machine ...It stays in my shop and I am happy with it so far..There have been no cons....
Pros: Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, High Quality
R.h. Recommends This Puma Product
R.h.'s Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I'd use this company again"
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Stephen B.
Holliston, MA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/3/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Needed A Compressor
Our compressor was loud and leaking...Needed a new one and found this one.

Works great and is nice and quiet.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, Reliable
Cons: None
Stephen Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Kelsey S.
Auberry, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 4/14/15
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Delivery, Could Have Been A Heck Of A Lot Better
I received my compressor this afternoon, but I was not happy at what I saw. The container was laying on its side in the middle of the truck, it had not been secured to prevent falling over. The box was damaged, and the compressor, when I finally opened the box, was covered with oil.

The driver made some comment about a rough road. Any idiot should have seen that a box that is narrow and tall with fall over just by going around a turn if it was not secured. I finally cleaned it up and... more
Kelsey Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials