Your Cart @ Air Compressors Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Puma TE-3040V Two Stage Air Compressor Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$849.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$849.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,003.65
(as of 07:12 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
Puma TE-3040V Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (3)
Quiet (3)
I'd Buy It Again (2)
Fast (2)
High Quality (2)
Cons
Bad Instructions (2)
No Detailed Instructions... (1)
Packaging (1)
No (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
9 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Nicholas D.
Erie, PA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/2/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Decent Compressor
Shortly after getting it setup I ran into some problems. The purge valve wouldn't close when the compressor kicked off.

I called Puma and was able to talk to their tech support and they FeDex'd me a new oneway valve and pressure switch. I took the old oneway valve out of the tank and found a 'foreign body' jamming it up and once removed and the valve and tubing reinstalled, it worked properly.

I have it powering my shop and I ordered it primarily due to the fact that my CNC router's... more
Nicholas Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Peter D.
Fairhaven, MA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 6/29/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Compressor, But Customer Service....ehh!!
Compressor and specs are a stellar unit !! But after passing the shipping/arrival date from the said 7 to 10 business days, I called to express my concerns over NOT hearing from anyone on either the purchasing or manufacturing side. Was told the compressor was back ordered, and would not be available for another 7 to 10 days.

Arrived via Lift Gate truck and excellent service from third party handler to get it to my garage. After quick inspection of unit paperwork signed and release... more
View Image
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Features, High Quality
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging, No, No Detailed Instructions From Puma About Usage And Specs Etc
Peter Recommends This Puma Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Peter,
We apologize for Puma's delay in shipping your unit- they hadn't told us they were waiting on the next production run to be ready for shipment.

Our records show one of our folks called you yesterday so we could get the information we need to help with repair or replacement of your unit, and apparently they were hung up on. They called your number again with no answer, so they emailed you asking for the serial number of your unit.

I will send the picture you included to our Post Sales team so they can help you resolve your situation.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Joe B.
Spring City, TN
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/17/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Need Air?
Puma has it.
Joe Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark F.
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/16/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice And Compact
I don't have a garage so this worked out well, doesn't take up a lot of space yet gets the job done!

I like do DIY projects so this is more than just all-right for the job! Used air sanders and grinders and works good.
Mark Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Steve H.
Murrieta, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/2/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fine So Far
Pumped up and ran fine. It had a slight leak near pressure switch or gauge. Tried to find leak with soap but could not find.

Finally changed pressure gauge and that solved the leak. Other than changing the gauge, it has been fine so far.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Steve Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
20
David S.
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 4/16/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Quality Compressor, Poor Documentation
Overall, I am pleased with the compressor - solidly built, minimal cycling, relatively quiet, and no leaks. It's certainly a big improvement over my 30 gallon single stage compressor.

However, the documentation leaves much to be desired. There is basically an exploded parts diagram, wiring instructions, and initial break in instructions. The air filters were not installed, but there was no mention of this in the setup instructions.

The pressure regulator is set for cut-in at about... more
Pros: Fast, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Bad Instructions
David Recommends This Puma Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
David,
We have a PDF version of Puma's generic manual on our Product page. Click on the Specs tab and you'll see the Download link on the right side of the page.

It's not great, either- but I hope you find it helpful.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Joseph G.
Carmel, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/27/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Surprising Quiet
Had unit about a month and the surprising thing is my shop vac is louder than this compressor ! Couldn't find anything on unit that said made in china what a surprise.

I'm all for made in the USA. Like my son-in-law said this is one bad boy.
Joseph Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jacob W.
Wichita, KS
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/19/15
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Air Compressor!
I just moved from an apartment to house with 3 car garage and needed to set up my own little shop. I was debating between a little cheaper 1 stage 60gal and then I stumbled upon this 2 stage 40gal. I didn't know a lot about different brands but looking at reviews the Puma brand looked pretty good. And they were the only ones to make a 2 stage under $1,000 that I could find. My uses for it will be to get the most out of my impact drivers to get off the random stuck lug nut etc. I also plan... more
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Quiet, Fast
Jacob Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
142
Merlin E.
Omaha, NE
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/12/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Puma 3-hp Two Stage Air Compresser
I love it! It keeps up with the air tools very nice and will actually shut off! It works better than the sixty-gallon 5 hp single-stage that I had before. Great space saver too!!! I would recommend it to anyone who likes to mess around in the garage and needs very good air service!!!
Merlin Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials