Your Cart @ Air Compressors Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Rolair D2002HPV5 Pancake Air Compressor Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$344.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$344.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Rolair D2002HPV5 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (5)
Durable (3)
Fast (3)
Easy To Store (2)
Excellent Carry Design (1)
Cons
Bad Instructions (1)
Heavy (1)
Leaked Oil (1)
Low Quality (1)
Must Drain Tank Before I... (1)
85% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
15 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Air Compressor Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
234 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
2851 Helpful Votes
Air Compressors Direct Recommended

Whether you are a do-it-yourselfer or a professional, the Rolair 2 HP pancake is a Contractor grade model you can rely on.

You can expect many years of use from this model, unlike lower-cost consumer units that die young & need to be replaced. The oil lubricated pump with a cast iron cylinder & stainless steel valves insure trouble free performance. It even comes filled with oil & ready to go right out of the box.

The compact size is easy to transport and store. It's... more
Steve Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
352
manufacturers review image

Kale Falkenthal
Compressor Specialist
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
170 Helpful Votes
From The Manufacturer
Original Design
The D2002HPV5 is a ROLAIR original design. Keeping the contractor in mind and knowing how rough a job site can be, we built a roll-cage tank design around the pump/motor. This will ensure the guts of the compressor are protected.

Are you sick of carrying around your stack-tank compressor and having the tank drains dig into your side? Then this is the compressor for you! The flat outside of the tank makes it easy to rest the unit on your hip without drains punching holes in your leg.

The... more
Was this review helpful?
306
Rick H.
Boise, ID
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Super Products At A Fair Price
Over the last 27 years I have owned many compressors, this by far is my favorite, the one I use daily. I have run it for over 15 years, solid , compact, great line pressure recovery.

I consistently run 4 finish guns at a time on these models, I have 5 of these and 3 other Rolair models. wouldn't recommend any other.
Rick Recommends This Rolair Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Irv
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 2/15/13
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Compressor!
Relatively quiet, quick to get to full pressure (45 sec for me), and MADE IN THE USA!
Was this review helpful?
121
John B.
Pinedale, AZ
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/15/14
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor Made In Usa
Product shipped fast and appears to be built well.

The only down side is the fact that it will not run first time each day unless the tank has been completely drained. Once drained and started it works well the rest of the day. The length or gauge of the extension cord makes no difference on this issue. It may have a weak breaker.
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Quiet, Easy To Store
Cons: Must Drain Tank Before It Will Work First Time Each Day
John Recommends This Rolair Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
John,
Your unit has a 1 year Factory Warranty through the folks at Rolair- you may want to give them a call at 920-349-3281 to see if your unit needs repair or adjustment.

We appreciate your business and apologize for any inconvenience!
more
Was this review helpful?
80
Tim S.
Mount Vernon, TX
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/27/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Listen Up, Shoppers
I have been a contractor for 30 years and have used pretty much all of the brands out there at some point.

15+ years ago I bought the Rolair 1 1/2 hp. model. Framed, sided, roofed, painted and generally used the snot out of it. Finally getting a little hard to start up in cold weather. Bought another one in a heart beat.

Best and most portable compressor out there, TRUST ME! No, they did not pay me to write this.
Pros: High Quality, Durable, I'd Buy It Again, Well Designed For Portability
Tim Recommends This Rolair Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Tim,
Thanks, Tim!

As a matter of fact, we don't pay or in any other way compensate anyone for the reviews on our websites. The articles and recommendations written by our staff are clearly labeled as such.
more
Tim Would Recommend Air Compressors Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great prices, fast service, what else do you need?"
 more
Was this review helpful?
91
Robert G.
Canton, GA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 6/25/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor!
Nothing but good things to say about this compressor... Came on time & in perfect condition out of the box. I tried to run the compressor on a 14 gauge extension cord, nope, didn't work. Got the 10 gauge cord & works like a champ. Great things still made in the USA! If you are looking for a great home compressor.... look no further...
Robert Recommends This Rolair Product
Was this review helpful?
81
Mark
Mt. Joy, PA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/19/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor
Great performance on the job site, easy to transport, runs framing guns perfectly.
Pros: Durable, Light Weight, Fast, High Quality
Mark Recommends This Rolair Product
Was this review helpful?
50
James N.
Everett, WA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 4/6/15
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Disapointed
Just purchased this compressor and used it for three days before it stopped working. I purchased the extended warranty from ACD, and when I wrote to let them know I had an issue, they told me to contact the manufacturer.

Not such a great extended warranty...

I have had the older version of this compressor, and it worked for many years with out problem, I am sure it will be fine, but I am not happy with my purchase at the moment.
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
James,
Your extended warranty is offered by the manufacturer, so when we say to contact the manufacturer, it's because they're the ones who issue the repairs or replacement under warranty.

They'll need your serial number when you call, and they should be able to get things worked out for you without any extra charge.
more
Was this review helpful?
40
Eric P.
Shohola, PA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 6/7/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Impressed
The good, AirCompressorsDirect is a great company. I placed my order, and two days later it was at my door.

The bad, the compressor should have it's own circuit, I was using the compressor, a Bosch radio and a halogen work light on a 15amp breaker. The breaker tripped, a lot.

The really bad, the compressor Leaked oil. Not good on a finished wood floor. The crankcase gasket surface is less than an 1/8" thick. It should have at least a 1/4" thick gasket surface flange.

I did... more
Pros: Excellent Carry Design
Cons: Low Quality, Leaked Oil
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Eric,
Please contact ROLAIR @ 920-349-3281 for additional assistance. They are very supportive & want feedback on their products.
Sorry to say, but there are no single stage or portable air compressors completely made in the US any longer.
more
Eric's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great company. Will definitely purchase from AirCompressorsDirect again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Ron R.
Brunswick, GA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/13/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Find
I did a lot of research before purchasing this compressor. I had bought cheap the first time around and it did not last. So far this has performed as advertised. It is much quieter than the old compressor I had and easy to operate. So far, no complaints.
Ron Recommends This Rolair Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Marcos C.
Downey, CA
REVIEWED
NOV.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best Compressor
I'm roofer, I have Rolair's pancake air compressor for 15 years and still running fine.
Marcos Recommends This Rolair Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Jeff S.
Houston, TX
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/8/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works For Me
As a gay contractor I needed something that sets me aside from the usual crowd.

This compressor looks different than most of what you see on the various jobsites I work on; and coupled with my beautiful silver "grip right" nail gun I have become the most stylish carpenter in town!!!
Pros: High Quality, Fast, Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy
Jeff Recommends This Rolair Product
Jeff's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It arrived fast and was packed well. I thought the guy on the phone was kinda short with me and didn't really seem to care if I bought one or not but I am waaaaayyyyy worse at 9am so I will give him a pass."
 more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Jeff,
We appreciate your business, and apologize for not providing the excellent service you deserve! We will work to improve our phone skills and look forward to serving you in the future.
Was this review helpful?
32
Dorothy L.
Macungie, PA
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Rolair 2-hp 4.5 Gallon Pro. Pancake Air Compressor Model #d2002h
I ordered this compressor for my son as his old one failed and he is restoring a 1700 school house. You shipped the very next day and he is thrilled with it as it is very quiet and quite efficient. He owns his own electrical business. Thank you so very much.
Dorothy Recommends This Rolair Product
Dorothy's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I happened on your site quite by accident and found nothing but top rated service from the beginning to the end. Thank you so very much for your top notch site and service. This was for my son who owns his own electrical business. Again, thank you."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Dennis G.
Pennsauken, NJ
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/19/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good First Time Compressor
This is my first compressor and I was a little unsure how it works, but was able to figure it out in a short time. The manual was not much help. Better illustrations or photos in the manual would have helped to figure out how it operates.
Pros: Fast, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Bad Instructions
Dennis Recommends This Rolair Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Dennis,
You are welcome to give the folks at Rolair Tech Support a call at 920-349-3281 with any questions you may have, or email them at service@rolair.com. They are available during business hours, Monday thru Friday Central Time.
more
Was this review helpful?
54
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials