Your Cart @ Air Compressors Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Slime 40026 12-Volt Inflators Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$89.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$89.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$99.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Slime 40026 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Store (8)
Easy To Use (6)
Fast (6)
Light Weight (4)
High Quality (2)
Cons
Unreliable (2)
Should Have A Cigarette ... (1)
A Bit Pricey But Worth T... (1)
Know Which Switch Turn I... (1)
It's Not Expensive You G... (1)
84% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
35 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Air Compressor Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
234 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
2737 Helpful Votes
Air Compressors Direct Recommended

Slime's twin cylinder wins our top slot because it's a little different from the rest of the herd.

With this inflator you're not limited to an electrical outlet- it comes with clamps and runs directly off your car battery to top off your tires and inflate sports balls or water toys.

There's 30 feet of reach packed in this compact unit- 8 feet of power cord easily reaches your battery, and 22 feet of coiled air hose inflates bicycle tires and beach balls.

We also like the bright LED... more
Steve Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
5821
Gerald F.
Clifton, ME
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/7/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Works
I am impressed with this unit. I pumped up a couple RV tires to 110 psi easier than using my shop compressor.
Gerald Recommends This Slime Product
Was this review helpful?
73
Wesley C.
Rockport, TX
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/26/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Gets Hot
Gets hot and shuts off before tire is fully inflated.
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Wesley,
If you feel your inflator isn't working properly, please give the folks at Slime a call, toll free at (888) 457-5463 for a replacement unit since it comes with a 1-year Factory Warranty.

Please have the serial number of your unit handy when you call them. If they ask for a receipt you can always print one by clicking on My Account in the upper right corner of our website and follow the prompts.

Inflators have a small motor working very hard- usually it's best to run them for short periods (less than 15 minutes) and give them time to cool off. Please also make sure it is a passenger car tire (around 35 PSI) that you're inflating- larger SUV or truck tires may require a heavier-duty unit.
more
Was this review helpful?
22
Neil T.
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/16/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exactly As Advertised
I purchased this product for use with my 34 foot RV trailer. I used it over the Memorial Day weekend. It had no trouble bringing my tires up to the required 65 PSI.

The hose from the compressor reached the tires without stretching. The only thing I would have liked was to have slightly longer battery lead wires. I would give this product a 5 out of 5.
Neil Recommends This Slime Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Ray O.
Waverly, OH
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 2/8/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Portable Life Saver
You have to pay for air at a gas station, if you can get to the station. This portable unit works excellent, it is very fast and I am pleased with my purchase.
Ray Recommends This Slime Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Martha P.
Glendale Heights, IL
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/1/13
Total Helpful Votes
35 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Compressor At The Gas Station Is Out Of Order Too Often
My neighbor generously plugged a flat tire for me. It kept losing air so I asked the mechanic to check it out when I went for an oil change. He said the plug was good but it needed to be remounted and he suggested I go to a tire place. They wouldn't touch it because someone else had plugged it.

I decided to buy a new tire but mine aren't available any more. Portable compressors are usually a disappointment but I was getting frustrated so I looked online for the best one I could find. I... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: It's Not Expensive You Get What You Pay For
Martha Recommends This Slime Product
Was this review helpful?
3511
Malcolm J.
Greenville, NC
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/23/13
Total Helpful Votes
22 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Pump Died- Being Replaced
I received the pump and inflated two tires in about four minutes running time. I attempted to inflate the third tire and the pump would not start.

I called Slime and they told me they would replace the pump. Hope the next one will be a better pump.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Unreliable
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Malcolm,
Slime is very good with their warranty replacements, but we apologize for the inconvenience!
more
Was this review helpful?
221
Steve
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/13/12
Total Helpful Votes
21 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tire Inflator
I had purchased a car tool kit that included a cigarette lighter receptacle-powered compressor. It was very small (about 1 pound weight I estimate) and I thought at the time that it seemed doubtful that something that size could put our enough energy to pump up a tire in a reasonable time.

Well I bought a new Honda Accord (2012 EXL) and it is equipped with a low tire pressure warning system (good idea). So, after about 6 months, the warning came on. It was at night and I was far from... more
Was this review helpful?
215
Hernan
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/21/13
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Convenience
It's easy to connect, much quieter than may last compressor, and quick. I can pump up a spare from 50 to 60 lbs. in about 30 seconds.

The included gauge is a great convenience- it's a very good compressor.
Was this review helpful?
172
David N.
Prairie Village, KS
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/5/14
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Little Pump
I needed a light weight quality pump that has at least 150 psi to top off RV tire and also bike tires. It fills bike tires very fast. It takes a few minutes to add 5-6 lbs of pressure to RV tire, but did so.

It took me a while to figure out there are two switches, one for the light and one for the pump. At first I thought it was broken, but then discovered the switch on the other side for the pump and all was well.
Pros: Easy To Store, Light Weight, Durable, High Quality
Cons: Know Which Switch Turn It On
David Recommends This Slime Product
Was this review helpful?
154
Jim L.
Painesville, OH
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/16/13
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Easily & Quickly
Wife was having constant slow leaks in her new set of tires. Rather than continue to go back to the tire dealer I bought her this pump.

At first she objected to having to fill her own tires, but after a quick run-through of the unit with her, she now fills hers and my tires all the time. She's pretty proud of herself.

The unit works easily and quickly as well. I filled a complete flat on my son's big SUV in less than 2 minutes.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Light Weight, Fast
Cons: Expensive, A Bit Pricey But Worth The Money
Jim Recommends This Slime Product
Was this review helpful?
132
David
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/17/13
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worked Great
Used to inflate 31' tire and it worked great, looking forward to further use.
Was this review helpful?
112
Lanny
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/5/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Need Air?
I needed a small compressor to carry with me for multi uses....RV Air Bags, Boat Trailer tire, Motorcycle Tires, Motorcycle Trailer tires, blowing water out the water line in the RV when temps drop to freezing to avoid damage, and other uses.

The first use was when my son had a blow out on his TT. His spare was low and with the long power cord and long hose we were able to air up to proper inflation in a few minutes.
Pros: Easy To Store, Fast
Lanny Recommends This Slime Product
Was this review helpful?
92
Bill
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/25/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
16
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Slime Compressor
I have just received the new compressor and tried it once. It was an auto tire and did a fast fill.

The instructions say to let it cool before the next fill. It did get warm.
Was this review helpful?
103
Stanley B.
Schnecksville, PA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/14/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Compact With A Lot Of Air
The compressor worked good.

I have a fifth wheel air-ride hitch, it filled up the air bag with no problems.

Hopefully I will have this unit for a long time. It is very small and compact but with a lot of air.

So far I love it.
Was this review helpful?
82
Luis M.
Bronx, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/11/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Perfect Air Compressor
I find this compressor to be very useful in making sure that my tires are always properly inflated, the only drawback is that you have to open the hood all the time to be able to connect the leads. You should be able to connect through the cigarette lighter and an adaptor would make it more convenient.

Some cars have the battery under a compartment that requires a lot of movement like the HHR.
Pros: Easy To Store, Fast, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Should Have A Cigarette Lighter Adoptor
Luis Recommends This Slime Product
Luis Would Recommend Air Compressors Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This compressor is ideal for both men and women- make sure you wear your gloves."
 more
Was this review helpful?
83
Jim J.
Nampa, ID
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/23/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Saved The Day 3 Times Already
This is a real air compressor. I love the carrying case, the light, and how easily it stores. I love the direct to the battery hook-up---no blown fuses.

It is a heavy duty substantial machine that WILL air up a truck tire in a reasonable amount of time. I project manage a gypsy construction crew that seldom stays in one location much over a week. A minimum of 24 tires on the ground working everyday all day.

I've had the machine less than two weeks and it has already saved the day... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Fast, Exceeded Expectations
Jim Recommends This Slime Product
Jim Would Recommend Air Compressors Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered on a Wednesday. Had it on the following Monday. They kept in touch and let me know every step of the delivery. It arrived promptly and without a scratch. The built-in carrying case is made for travel and reasonable bumps and bruises."
 more
Was this review helpful?
105
Wayne H.
Caneadea, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 8/23/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Convenient
Handy to carry in truck when camping and keep air suspension at required level.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Light Weight, High Quality
Wayne Recommends This Slime Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Regina M.
Palmetto Bay, FL
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/31/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Slime Tire Inflator
It arrived at the perfect time. My tire had a slow leak, and it kept air in the tire till I was able to get it fixed. Easy to use!
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, Reliable, Easy To Store
Regina Recommends This Slime Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Jerry Robinson
Santa Fe, TX
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/6/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
No Air
Tried to use it, will not screw on the valve stem properly to air up a tire. Junk.
Cons: Unreliable
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Jerry,
I'm sorry for the inconvenience! Please just give the folks at Slime a call, toll free, at (888) 457-5463 and give them the serial number of your inflator. They will be happy to replace it under their 1 year Factory Warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
84
Mike Y.
Summersville, WV
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/21/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Really Good
I like it a lot- it works really good.
Was this review helpful?
62
Bob D.
Lake Havasu City, AZ
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/24/11
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Price, Fast Air Up
We had a Slime single pumper and worked OK. It took too long to air up four 33" tires on our Rubicon, but this double pumper inflates at twice the speed in half the time. Comes in a hard plastic carry case with handle.
Was this review helpful?
62
John T.
Crofton, MD
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 4/1/15
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Advertised
I purchased this Heavy Duty Tire Inflator because I have a tire that is leaking air at a very slow rate and it was harder to find an operating commercial pump in the winter. So far, I have used it twice and I have been very pleased with the results. It would increase the air pressure in a tire by 5 pounds or more in less than a minute.

I would take the air pressure 2 lbs above what I wanted to put in the tire. Then I would turn off the air pump and unscrew the connector to the tire. ... more
John Recommends This Slime Product
John's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The site was easy to navigate and they gave a considerable amount of feedback on each product I reviewed. They included all the reviews received, both the good and the bad reviews. In the final analysis, I felt I had all the data from the site to make a good decision."
 more
Was this review helpful?
63
Steven M.
New York Mills, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/20/15
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Carrying Case To Small
Unit works great. Stretchy hose is fiddly, the device needs a bigger case as everything does not go back quickly or easily!
Steven Recommends This Slime Product
Was this review helpful?
53
Binh
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/11/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Like It
It works really well, I like it.

I wish it came with 110v plus in also.
Was this review helpful?
31
Patrick D.
Virginia Beach, VA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/2/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Arrived Early
I got this to keep the tires on my Mustang topped off. I've only used it once so far and it worked great.

The shipping was super fast. The compressor got here before the tracking number said it would.
Was this review helpful?
42
Steven W.
Campbellsburg, KY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/3/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
26
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not Just A Screw Loose!
I received my mini-air compressor properly sent and packaged. The problem is that a screw on the face plate was missing, not placed by the Chinese technician who made the item. This screw helps hold the compressor together.

I sent an e-mail to Slime comment dept asking for a single screw which they have ignored. I am afraid to use the unit until the structural integrity of the item is assured. What else can I do?
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Steven,
Please call Slime directly at (888) 457-5463 for warranty repair/replacement. Be sure to have the serial number of the inflator handy when you call them.
more
Was this review helpful?
64
Dave
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/1/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Slime Air Compressor
I was in need of a portable air compressor and did a Google search. Air Compressors Direct.com came up as one of the search results and I was surprised by what choices I had.

Not only did I have many choices but also the prices were great. I knew what the prices were from doing the usual search of auto stores and the retail stores. The shipping was fast and free, and the product was better than I expected from the normal portable compressors out there.

It has a nice carrying case, fast... more
Was this review helpful?
31
Robert W.
Brigham City, UT
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 6/26/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
29
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great For My Jeep
I bought the compressor to carry in my Jeep to air up my tires. I have only used it once, but it worked great.
Was this review helpful?
31
Mark
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Great Little Compressor
But, I had less than a year and air hose broke in two. I have not yet been able to find parts if any.
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Mark,
You could give the folks at Slime a call, toll free, at (888) 457-5463 to see if they have the parts you need. Be sure to have the serial number of your inflator handy when you call them.
more
Was this review helpful?
53
David M.
Roswell, GA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/16/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerful Compressor
I was very impressed with how fast it added air to the tire. I added 4 lbs of pressure in a matter of a few seconds. Didn't expect it to be so good but it is. I really like it.
David Recommends This Slime Product
Was this review helpful?
43
Emile
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/27/11
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Surprised At Quality
this is a great little compressor works fine and a good price

was surprised at the quality of the unit and the case

thanks again
Was this review helpful?
32
Donald D.
Gahanna, OH
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 2/25/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Air Compressor
I use this in the back of my truck. I tow a lot of heavy stuff, so I keep this for emergency purpose.
Donald Recommends This Slime Product
Was this review helpful?
44
Art
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Slime 2x Twin Cylinder Heavy Duty Tire Inflator Review
I bought this same unit directly from Slime. The first time I used it it worked fine. The second time, on the road, I could not get 10 psi out of it. Slime replaced unit and I had exactly same experience. I would NEVER buy another Slime air pump.

ACD RESPONDS: Please check the Owner's Manual to make sure you are operating the inflator within its design parameters.
Was this review helpful?
44
Gene
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/13/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Disappointed
Disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
618
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials