Free Shipping On Air Compressors (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
< Back to Product

California Air Tools CAT-5510SE Portable - Horizontal Air Compressor Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Shipping$159.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$159.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
California Air Tools CAT-5510SE Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (14)
Price (7)
Easy To Use (7)
Light Weight (6)
Easy To Store (6)
Cons
None (7)
None so far (1)
A little more than most ... (1)
Shipping Company (1)
Packaging (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
16 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Air Compressor Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
234 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
3464 Helpful Votes
Air Compressors Direct Recommended

This model is great for DIY or jobsite uses.

The low 1680 RPM operation creates less noise & wear than 3450 RPM consumer grade compressors. And it boasts a 3000+ hour life cycle before wear while comparable units are 500 hours or less.

The 60 dBA sound level is ideal for indoor use where noise is an issue & the 8.5 low amp draw works on most household outlets.
Steve Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
181
Darryl B.
Richmond, KY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/28/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice Compressor
I should have got one of these long ago. Very quiet. It works great.

Sure puts the off-brand compressors to shame.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: None
Darryl Recommends This California Air Tools Product
Darryl's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very easy website, set up well."
 more
Was this review helpful?
61
Kenneth L.
Knoxville, TN
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/7/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great So Far
Works great to do light duty. Very quiet. Since it replaced a Porter Cable that did great for a few years with light use, then died with sparks flying from the motor, durability is still a big question.
Pros: Quiet, Price, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None
Kenneth Recommends This California Air Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Terry T.
Lorain, OH
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 6/3/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice, Very Quiet!
Loved the product.

It came damaged from Fedex- not your fault. It was dropped upside down and bent the motor brackets!

It works great,so far! My wife was home and they left it in my garage on its side! I would think you would have to sign for it or something!
Pros: Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Packaging, Shipping Company
Terry Recommends This California Air Tools Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Terry,
I am so sorry your compressor arrived with shipping damage, although it sounds like you were able to use the compressor anyway. The window to file a shipping damage claim is very short- please call us at (866) 437-8002 right away if your unit needs to be repaired or replaced. Shipping damage isn't covered by the compressor's Factory Warranty.

We appreciate your business and apologize for any inconvenience.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Marv E.
Eloy, AZ
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/8/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Quiet!!
Very quiet!!
Pros: Quiet, Price, Light Weight, High Quality
Marv Recommends This California Air Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
63
Dale C.
Kentwood, LA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/18/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quietness Is A Novelty And A Pleasure.
Very impressed thus far with performance, construction and value.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Packaging
Cons: None
Dale Recommends This California Air Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Jared V.
Lafayette, LA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/12/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Am Pleased To Say This Is An Awesome Air Compressor
This compressor has been a Godsend with helping me rebuild my house that flooded in August 2016 in Louisiana.

Incredibly quiet and can power every tool that I have used so far from framing to painting and finishing restoration of house. Can't wait to finally finish my house so I can use it for other projects around the house.
Pros: Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive, A little more than most but this will outlast any other on the ma
Jared Recommends This California Air Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Richard T.
Las Vegas, NV
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/30/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quietest Compressor I've Ever Owned
Quietest air compressor I've ever owned. Many of the others required hearing protection to use. Wheels make moving it around easy.

I only use it to fill tires on a motor home and vehicles, and blowing out dusty items, so can't comment on other applications such as use with power tools.
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Richard Recommends This California Air Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael S.
Pasadena, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/29/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
05
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Compressor
This compressor is great! Super quiet, easy controls and access. Great.
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight
Cons: None
Michael Recommends This California Air Tools Product
Michael's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good customer service and answers to my technical questions."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Ullrich S.
Baytown, TX
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/14/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Quiet Air I Could Find
Airbrushing does not lend itself well when the Craftsman pancake compressor decides to launch itself to a cacophony of noise that sounds like a person bending steel with a four pound mallet. So to the twenty gallon Craftsman on the other side of an insulated wall. Worse! Now you get the echo to cope with.

Then I started to look for small quiet compressors, and for the money I made the correct choice. It is not as quiet as the 400.00-500.00 hundred dollar compressors that you cannot... more
Pros: Quiet, Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None so far
Ullrich Recommends This California Air Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
10
John B.
Pagosa Springs, CO
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/7/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just What I Needed
Quality built, quiet, and portable. Great for tires and blowing out air filters and water lines.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Store, Price, High Quality
Cons: None
John Recommends This California Air Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry B.
North Little Rock, AR
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/4/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Air Compressor I've Had Yet
Very quiet, holds pressure good and is strong.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Cons: None
Larry Recommends This California Air Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron T.
Mexico, MO
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 4/23/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
It Is Quiet
Have not used it much, gets up to full pressure quickly and quietly.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Fast
Ron Recommends This California Air Tools Product
Ron's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"No problems."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Daniel O.
Stanley, NM
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 4/7/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Compact Yet Does The Job
Very quiet. Easy to move. Runs my air tools. Compact, freeing up more room in my garage.
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Cons: None
Daniel Recommends This California Air Tools Product
Daniel's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I've bought several water pumps and the compressor from PED. Fast shipping and the "ask the expert" feature is handy."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Randy H.
Butler, PA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/27/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
19
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Air Compressor 5510se
Wonderful air compressor. Great value extremely happy with it.

Very light weight I can take it in my Jeep. Fills tank very fast.
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Fast, Reliable
Randy Recommends This California Air Tools Product
Randy's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very good experience buying from Air Compressors Direct. Would recommend them to my family. Fast and free shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Laura J.
Vestaburg, MI
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/2/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
16
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Product
Works quietly as expected. Easy to use. Portable and lightweight. Runs an air gun with no problems.

A great addition to my garage.
Pros: Quiet, Price, Easy To Use, Light Weight
Laura Recommends This California Air Tools Product
Laura's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast and reliable. Came quicker than expected."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials