Free Shipping On Air Compressors (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
< Back to Product

Campbell Hausfeld FP2048 Hot Dog Air Compressor Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$79.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$79.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$89.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$79.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
 
$98.51
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Campbell Hausfeld FP2048 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
3/5
Quality
3/5
Performance
3/5
Value
3/5
Overall
3.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (2)
Light Weight (2)
Price (1)
Looks good (1)
Reliable (1)
Cons
Difficult To Use (1)
Very slow (1)
Unreliable (1)
plenty to improve on (1)
22% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
18 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Donzel O.
Lisbon, OH
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/28/17
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
For Home Use An Excellent Product!
I don't have any problems with this product. For pumping up tires, blowing up small swimming pools and etc. it is awesome! I have no complaints whatsoever!!!
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Donzel Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
Was this review helpful?
00
John B.
Canton, TX
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/18/17
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
O.k. Is The Proper Rating
It is O.K. but nothing outstanding. Price is a little high for the product. The heating cut-off and air pressure cut-off could be a lot better engineered. On a hot day it cuts off too soon. I put the unit in air conditioning and it cut back on. Go figure.

My second one. First one the hose broke which I discovered later. Not the greatest product for the price.

Nothing outstanding and a lot of room for improvement.
Pros: Looks good
Cons: plenty to improve on
John Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David V.
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/23/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
17
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Slooooow
The tank is slow to fill when the pressure is down, which is all the time. If the unit sits without use I have to unplug it as it runs quite often to keep the tank at pressure.
Pros: Price
Cons: Unreliable
David Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
William G.
Pensacola, FL
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/21/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2017
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Very Slow
I wanted a compressor that would fill my tires on my van that has a slow leak. It will fill the tires, but it is very slow. Would not get another one.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Very slow
William Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
William,
We are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with this product. This unit should easily fill a car tire- please give the folks at Campbell Hausfeld a call, toll free, at 800-330-0712 for some easy troubleshooting and possible warranty referral.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
William,
We are sorry to hear you had an unsatisfactory experience with this compressor. Please reach out to us so we can take care of you. Call 1-800-543-6400 for further assistance.

Thank you
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Edward S.
Toms River, NJ
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/28/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
20
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Poorly Engineered
The compressor's fitting to valve on a car is very poorly engineered and it takes much too long for the inflation to reach its full level.

The price is very good but I'm not happy with the purchase.
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Difficult To Use
Edward Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Edward,
I'm sorry you're not happy with your compressor. Please give the folks at Campbell Hausfeld a call at 877-543-6400 so they can send you a replacement inflation nozzle. You may also want to check with them to see what the normal fill time should be- it may require service or replacement under their Factory Warranty.

Please have the serial number of your unit handy when you call Campbell Hausfeld, they will ask for it.

We appreciate your business, and apologize for any inconvenience.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Bill C.
Aberdeen, SD
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
27
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
30 Years
I felt like I should replace my 30 year old Campbell Hausfeld with a new one and chose the two gallon compressor.

My old one had no tank and worked very well for all these decades, inflating hundreds of bike tires, thousands of inflatable balls, and a few car tires. Sounds like the new two gallon one doesn't do car tires very good, so I better hold onto my old reliable Campbell Hausfeld.
View Image
Was this review helpful?
153
Phil S.
REVIEWED
APR.
14
2008
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Too Slow
I would not recommend buying this compressor to inflate tires, it is much to slow.

I bought it for this purpose and was very disappointed.

About ten minutes are needed for a 15 inch tire. It will do it if you have a lot of time.

ACD RECOMMENDS: This unit should easily fill a car tire- please give the folks at Campbell Hausfeld a call, toll free, at 800-330-0712 for some easy troubleshooting and possible warranty referral.
Was this review helpful?
81
Scott C.
Frisco, TX
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/19/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Bad Advise No Follow Up
After discussing my very specific needs with one of the product team they recommended the aforementioned product. My disappointment with this compressor is absolute. It does not have the capacity to fill the bike tires for which I purchased it for. Whats more, I contacted "Air Compressors Direct" and explained the issue to a manager and was assured that some one from their organization would be in touch. That was 8 days ago and needless to say, I am still waiting. So I am now in... more
Scott Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Scott,
We are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with this product. I will ensure a product expert contacts you asap to see what we can do to resolve your issue. Again our apologies.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Scott,
Hello Scott,

My name is Ken Burton with Campbell Hausfeld. Would it be possible to get contact number so I can also have one of our Campbell Hausfeld Technical Support agents contact you? My company email is kburton@campbellhausfeld.com

Our goal is to make sure that you are highly satisfied with our product(s) and that meets the needs it was designed to do.

Sincerely,

Ken
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Joe P.
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2006
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Used For Airbrushing
Just enough power without overdoing it.. I used it for airbrushing.
Was this review helpful?
50
G-man
Lynwood, CA
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2009
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not " Good Enough" At All !!!
I hate to give a bad review. This compressor is a great idea, but it does not have near enough power to pump up truck tires.

We went camping with our RV trailer, and my F-250 (tow vehicle) tire was almost flat due to a screw in the tire. This is a 10 ply tire that is rated for 80 psi.

We plugged the compressor into the generator,and let the compressor pump up. It took an hour to pump the tire from 20 psi to 80 psi in the heat of the day in the California desert.

The pump is just not... more
Was this review helpful?
52
Dawson W.
Lake Arthur, LA
REVIEWED
DEC.
05
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Second One
I am here to buy a second one to keep at my in-law's house. People, you get what you pay for do not forget that.

My first one is about 18 years old was about $300.00 and I am very happy with it and I use it a lot running a computer repair shop. I have used it to blow out hundreds of computer cases and I fix my own tires and a lot of the neighbor's tires. It has paid for itself many times over.

I will not get this one, the one I get will be at least $200.00.If you want 150 to 200 psi... more
Dawson Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Dawson,
We recommend this unit specifically for light-duty use by saying: "This is a great entry-level air compressor for the occasional user."

This unit will top off one household's tires, inflate sports balls, and run a small hobbyist air-stapler.

It's all about getting the right tool for the job. You are correct- for frequent or commercial use a more durable (and consequently more expensive) unit would be preferable.
more
Was this review helpful?
31
John S.
Malibu, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/20/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Small Compressor
This compressor is very well made and light weight. It's so much easier to use for small jobs that the big one I have. I'm very happy that I decided to buy it.
John Recommends This Campbell Hausfeld Product
John's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"No problems and fast shipping. That's all I want from a dealer."
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Sam
Cedar Hill, TX
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2008
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Enough
This unit is good enough for most home projects. I used it to install baseboards and trim on a house I remodeled using a CH 1.25 inch brad nail gun.

It is great for small inflation jobs; slow to inflate automobile tires, but will do the job if necessary.

It works great with a mini palm nailer and will drive a 3.5 inch framing nails easily in 2x4s. I also used it to clear a clogged air conditioner drain line.
Was this review helpful?
20
Herb
Bloomfield, NJ
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/1/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Highly Recommend
Found the compressor to be exactly as advertised. It works very well for the type of work that I do.

I would recommend this compressor highly from this company.
Was this review helpful?
43
Richard
Saintmarys, OH
REVIEWED
SEP.
11
2011
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Mistake
The air compressor I bought will not fill my portable tank. To fill it in case of an emergency I should have bought a larger compressor, it is not compatible for me.

It is probably good for a bicycle tire or air brush detail. I cannot afford another purchase right now to upgrade.

ACD RESPONDS: Depending on the connector your tank has, you should be able to get an adaptor for under $10 that will let you fill your air tank with your compressors.
Was this review helpful?
43
Mike W.
Vernal, UT
REVIEWED
SEP.
24
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Junk
Don't waste your time and hard earned money on this pile of junk. In less than 4 years I have been through 2 of them I wished I would have got my money back the first time.

I have emailed them a half dozen times and called them a couple times. They want me to buy there parts at there cost to fix it. Only to spend more on junk. I sent them the serial number and the year of the compressor.
Mike Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Mike,
I'm sorry you've had issues with this small compressor. We aren't Campbell Hausfeld, although we sell Campbell Hausfeld products. Their Factory Warranty covers defects in materials and workmanship, but they will ask you to pay for parts that wear out- that's pretty standard.

These units are great for small, around the house use- inflate tires or sports balls, staple a craft project, or airbrush a model. If you've worn out 2 in 4 years you need a more durable unit to meet the jobs you're doing.

You may want to take a look at this AB5 unit from
Rolair and this 2050A unit from California Air Tools. They will cost you what you spent on both the little throw-away compressors, but they will last longer and do a better job- I hope you'll be happier with them in the long run.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mike,
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize that youve had this experience with our product. As stated, the FP2048 is meant for applications such as inflating tires and light stapling jobs. If you are looking for heavier use out of your compressor, we suggest the Campbell Hausfeld WL6501.

Please do not hesitate to contact us via phone at 1-800-543-6400 or via email at chpowercustomerservc@campbellhausfeld.com and we will take care of you.
more
Was this review helpful?
22
Tim B.
Tega Cay, SC
REVIEWED
SEP.
10
2008
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect For Trimming My Home!
I used an entry level air compressor to finish the trim work in my home. It was a Campbell Hausfeld given to me by a friend, and I wore it out.

I have recently purchased my own and I look forward to it arriving.

Great Product!!
Was this review helpful?
01
Joe S.
Ann Arbor, MI
REVIEWED
OCT.
02
2008
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
My Many Uses For The Air Compressor
I use it every summer for cleaning up back yard and patio areas, and steps.
Was this review helpful?
36
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials