Free Shipping On Air Compressors (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
< Back to Product

Puma TE-3040V Two Stage Air Compressor Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$849.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$849.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,037.20
(as of 07:57 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
Puma TE-3040V Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (13)
I'd Buy It Again (10)
Price (6)
High Quality (6)
Exceeded Expectations (5)
Cons
Bad Instructions (3)
Packaging (2)
Came slightly damaged (1)
Not a problem for me , ... (1)
No Detailed Instructions... (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
21 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Mark N.
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 4/21/17
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dynamite "little" Compressor
Wanted something smaller, but with some punch. Didn't need a huge tank as I don't do a lot of stuff with air quick to fill.

At a distance of 6' this Puma is 77db. This is ten times quieter than my old cheap (oil) compressor, which measured 87db.

I had to snip off a little over 1/4" of the ON/OFF lever as it would hit on the electrical service connection: I used liquid tight PVC conduit and fittings, which are a bit bulky. Puma might look to provide a little more clearance here.
more
View Image
Pros: Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, Price
Cons: ON/OFF lever poor clearance to electical conneciton box
Mark Recommends This Puma Product
Mark's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Compressor arrived on a PARTIAL pallet, which kind of threw me off. Use of pallet forks (on tractor) required laying a chunk of plywood across the forks and then setting the compressor+"pallet" on top (made things a bit tippy)."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Craig B.
Blaine, WA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/27/17
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
APR.
03
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Lack Of Communication
Item says ships factory direct in 2-5 business days, I'm on the 6th business day and no communication yet on shipping. Order ACD1408292. I'll update this review as things progress.
Craig Recommends This Puma Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Craig,
I'm sorry you haven't gotten the emails that we sent with the status of your account- one on 3/27, 2 on 3/28, and one on 3/29 showing tracking for the various parts of your order. You may want to check your Junk or Spam email file to see if they are there.

Our page for the Puma unit says it ships in 2 to 5 business days (Monday thru Friday, excluding holidays). You placed your order on 3/27 at 10:15pm; so today is the 5th business day. I'll be happy to check with Puma on the status of your order, and we'll email the tracking information to you as soon as we get it.

You are welcome to call or email us at 'service@aircompressorsdirect.com' at any time about your order- we appreciate your business!
more
Was this review helpful?
10
A.t. L.
Lewiston, ID
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 4/10/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Choice
As promised, my order shipped from the manufacturer five business days after placed and I was provided with tracking info. Arrived about one week later from Tennessee to my North Idaho driveway by lift gate. From there, I used a light hand truck to move it into place in the shop.

Compressor shipped bubble wrapped on a small wood pallet. Arrived with minor shipping damage. Delivery driver was very helpful, documenting the fact on my invoice. Emailed ACD (thanks: Suzi Quigley post sales rep.)... more
View Image
Pros: Quiet, Price, Durable, USA Manufactured
Cons: Prone to shipping damage
A.t. Recommends This Puma Product
A.t.'s Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It was a great convenience comparing all the brands and models to find exactly what would work for me. Thanks Air Compressors Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Peter D.
Fairhaven, MA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 6/29/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Compressor, But Customer Service....ehh!!
Compressor and specs are a stellar unit !! But after passing the shipping/arrival date from the said 7 to 10 business days, I called to express my concerns over NOT hearing from anyone on either the purchasing or manufacturing side. Was told the compressor was back ordered, and would not be available for another 7 to 10 days.

Arrived via Lift Gate truck and excellent service from third party handler to get it to my garage. After quick inspection of unit paperwork signed and release... more
View Image
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Features, High Quality
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging, No, No Detailed Instructions From Puma About Usage And Specs Etc
Peter Recommends This Puma Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Peter,
We apologize for Puma's delay in shipping your unit- they hadn't told us they were waiting on the next production run to be ready for shipment.

Our records show one of our folks called you yesterday so we could get the information we need to help with repair or replacement of your unit, and apparently they were hung up on. They called your number again with no answer, so they emailed you asking for the serial number of your unit.

I will send the picture you included to our Post Sales team so they can help you resolve your situation.
more
Was this review helpful?
12
Stanley M.
Rushville, IN
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 4/4/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love My New Purchase
Very happy with my purchase. It pumps up fast and it is very quiet compared to my old 60 gallon single stage compressor.

I would recommend this for any medium duty shop or home owner. Also the appearance is very nice...good paint job on the tank.
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Light Weight
Stanley Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Ron C.
Newburgh, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 4/26/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Right Compressor For Me
I did tons of research and finally settled on the Puma TE 3040V. I wanted a quiet reliable compressor but I needed a higher PSI production than the standard 135 psi that is commonplace.

At 175 psi (thanks to the Puma's 2 stage compressor) I have the pressure I need to fill my RV tires to 135 psi and also power my air tools.

Just got it hooked up today and can first hand say it is a very quiet compressor. It arrived promptly after ordering, was easy to set up, and arrived with no defects... more
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Price
Ron Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David S.
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 4/16/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Quality Compressor, Poor Documentation
Overall, I am pleased with the compressor - solidly built, minimal cycling, relatively quiet, and no leaks. It's certainly a big improvement over my 30 gallon single stage compressor.

However, the documentation leaves much to be desired. There is basically an exploded parts diagram, wiring instructions, and initial break in instructions. The air filters were not installed, but there was no mention of this in the setup instructions.

The pressure regulator is set for cut-in at about... more
Pros: Fast, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Bad Instructions
David Recommends This Puma Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
David,
We have a PDF version of Puma's generic manual on our Product page. Click on the Specs tab and you'll see the Download link on the right side of the page.

It's not great, either- but I hope you find it helpful.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Mark F.
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/16/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice And Compact
I don't have a garage so this worked out well, doesn't take up a lot of space yet gets the job done!

I like do DIY projects so this is more than just all-right for the job! Used air sanders and grinders and works good.
Mark Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
32
Joseph G.
Carmel, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/27/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Surprising Quiet
Had unit about a month and the surprising thing is my shop vac is louder than this compressor ! Couldn't find anything on unit that said made in china what a surprise.

I'm all for made in the USA. Like my son-in-law said this is one bad boy.
Joseph Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Mike C.
Bremond, TX
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/23/17
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice
What I been wanting quite and builds pressure fast.

Also ACD was great to deal with and fast shipping will buy again. Thank you
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Mike Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Scott J.
Clovis, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 2/27/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
25
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Compressor Seems To Be Ok!!
This seems to be a great compressor for a residential house hold. This is not a commercial air compressor.
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Price
Cons: Packaging, Came slightly damaged
Scott Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
00
John P.
Pompton Lakes, NJ
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/12/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quite A Nice Piece Of Equipment!
Quick delivery.
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Price
Cons: Bad Instructions, Not a problem for me , some could benefit from better instructi
John Recommends This Puma Product
John's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great company to do business with order on Monday delivery on Friday."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steven K.
Littleton, CO
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/9/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor
I have had a lot of compressors in my time and this is the most quiet one I have ever had. My others were so loud you could not talk on the phone until it shut off.

And the power is wonderful. Strongly recommend purchasing this unit. I also installed an automatic drain which I am very happy with.
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations
Steven Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Josesph C.
Boynton Beach, FL
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 8/18/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Really Quiet
Much quieter than expected. Spoke with factory, they answered all my ? Made in USA.
Josesph Recommends This Puma Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Josesph,
I'm glad you're pleased with your new compressor!

I need to add, for those reading this review, that Made in USA is a legal term meaning that the unit is assembled here in the US, and all the parts are made in the US as well. I'm sorry, but Puma compressors (and most others) don't meet this description. This compressor, and many of the other brands we carry, are assembled in the US of domestic and globally sourced components.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Mark R.
De Soto, WI
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 2/11/17
REVIEWED
FEB.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Missing Link
This compressor fills a much needed gap in the compressor world. Smaller but not too small, but two-stage. 60 and 80 gallon compressors are too large for my needs -- a machine shop on our farm -- and single stage contractor type compressors just don't have what it takes to spray paint, run a sandblaster, run air tools etc.

I haven't had the chance to start it up yet, but have unpacked it and it is very well made and pretty sweet looking.
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Durable
Mark Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
01
William P.
Boothbay Harbor, ME
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/24/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor
Great compressor for the hobbyist. I am glad I went two stage. I have a small shop and it is very quiet.

Just don't forget to buy a water separator and adjustable gauge.
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Fast, Exceeded Expectations
William Recommends This Puma Product
William's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Was easy and fast."
 more
Was this review helpful?
02
Joe B.
Spring City, TN
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/17/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Need Air?
Puma has it.
Joe Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
04
Jacob W.
Wichita, KS
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/19/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Air Compressor!
I just moved from an apartment to house with 3 car garage and needed to set up my own little shop. I was debating between a little cheaper 1 stage 60gal and then I stumbled upon this 2 stage 40gal. I didn't know a lot about different brands but looking at reviews the Puma brand looked pretty good. And they were the only ones to make a 2 stage under $1,000 that I could find. My uses for it will be to get the most out of my impact drivers to get off the random stuck lug nut etc. I also plan... more
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Quiet, Fast
Jacob Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
162
Merlin E.
Omaha, NE
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/12/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Puma 3-hp Two Stage Air Compresser
I love it! It keeps up with the air tools very nice and will actually shut off! It works better than the sixty-gallon 5 hp single-stage that I had before. Great space saver too!!! I would recommend it to anyone who likes to mess around in the garage and needs very good air service!!!
Merlin Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
81
Nicholas D.
Erie, PA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/2/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Decent Compressor
Shortly after getting it setup I ran into some problems. The purge valve wouldn't close when the compressor kicked off.

I called Puma and was able to talk to their tech support and they FeDex'd me a new oneway valve and pressure switch. I took the old oneway valve out of the tank and found a 'foreign body' jamming it up and once removed and the valve and tubing reinstalled, it worked properly.

I have it powering my shop and I ordered it primarily due to the fact that my CNC router's... more
Nicholas Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Steve H.
Murrieta, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/2/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fine So Far
Pumped up and ran fine. It had a slight leak near pressure switch or gauge. Tried to find leak with soap but could not find.

Finally changed pressure gauge and that solved the leak. Other than changing the gauge, it has been fine so far.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Steve Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials