Free Shipping On Air Compressors (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Air Compressors Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Quincy Q12120PQ Portable - Horizontal Air Compressor Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$599.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$634.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$599.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Quincy Q12120PQ Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (13)
Reliable (9)
High Quality (8)
Easy To Store (6)
Easy To Use (5)
Cons
Expensive (4)
Low Quality (3)
Heavy (3)
none (3)
Packaging (2)
88% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
24 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Air Compressor Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
234 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
3575 Helpful Votes
Air Compressors Direct Recommended

There are a lot of portable, single stage air compressors out there; we've tried to round up the cream of the crop for you.

Quincy has been around for a very long time, and this compressor has a cast iron cylinder, crankshaft & valve plate for sturdy reliability that lasts and lasts.

This unit is perfect for small shops and devoted home craftspeople; it puts out 7.1 CFM at 100 PSI to operate a wide range of air tools. The lengthwise setup and fully enclosed belt make transport and... more
Steve Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
7820
Leonard L.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/27/17
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Compressor To Feed Plasma Cutter
Worked right out of the box as advertised.
Leonard Recommends This Quincy Product
Leonard's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Positive."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Meir A.
Chestnut Ridge, NY
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 4/23/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Overall
Great solid compressor for this size.

A couple of little things I needed to tweak:
- The drain valve leaked a lot of air. I tightened it and it still leaked. I removed it and put on some Teflon tape and that solved the problem.
- The cutout pressure was a bit low so I adjusted it (took 2 min.)
Pros: Reliable, Durable
Meir Recommends This Quincy Product
Meir's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great! Faster than expected shipping. ACD answered my questions before and during the purchase very promptly."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph L.
Madrid, IA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/23/17
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Air Compressor
I have used the air compressor for about 3 weeks now and love it. I am a professional framer and general contractor.

The air compressor is very quiet and keeps up with running (2) nailers either roofing or sheeting. Only down fall is it is very heavy and acquired to load into the back of my truck. I use a set of ramps to load and off load but it is still tricky.
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Reliable, Easy To Use
Cons: Expensive, Heavy
Joseph Recommends This Quincy Product
Joseph's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The air compressor was damaged then it came the first time, All I had to to is call and it was taken care of, after a couple of follow up calls. Great customer service. Recommended your site to a friend after I purchased the air compressor and we both had great experiences."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael C.
Fort Myers, FL
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/17/17
REVIEWED
FEB.
22
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Compressor For The Price
Dollar for dollar this is one great compressor. I highly recommend it!
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Store, Fast, Price
Cons: none
Michael Recommends This Quincy Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Neal L.
West Newbury, MA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/1/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
13
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Air Compressor For The Money!
I researched high and low and this compressor is quality and American made! It out performs my old compressor and its very quiet when operating.

I can't be more pleased.
Pros: Quiet, Reliable, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: none
Neal Recommends This Quincy Product
Neal's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping, great customer support, they reached out to me to help arrange for delivery. The delivery person even hauled the compressor up my gravel driveway and into my shop! Great experience overall, I highly recommend them!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
02
Neal L.
West Newbury, MA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/1/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
DEC.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Air Compressor I've Ever Owned!
I've owned many cheaper made compressors over the years but decided I wanted one that will last. I researched all the major brands and talked to many friends, Quincy always was at the top of their recommendations, a big plus is that it's American made.

I bought this model because I didn't need a huge compressor for my small shop. When it arrived I followed the break in instructions and put it through its first jobs, I can't be more pleased with the product!

I'm very pleased, thank you... more
Pros: Quiet, Reliable, Easy To Store, High Quality
Cons: none
Neal Recommends This Quincy Product
Neal's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great price and communication about my delivery, thank you!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
02
Thomas M.
Punxsutawney, PA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 7/22/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
26
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Replaced A 5 Hp Sears
Not large enough to run my impact gun. Have to wait on it to pump air. My old craftsmen was 5 HP direct drive had no trouble. Sears does not make this model any longer.

The quincy CFMs at 90 PSI was close to the old one. I will just have to live with it. Why they don't build them like they use too is beyond me. It seems all they are good for is pumping up tires.
Thomas Recommends This Quincy Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Thomas,
There are several factors to look at when matching a tool to an air compressor. Impact guns are fairly high demand tools as opposed to a low demand tool like a stapler.

You need a fair amount of air in reserve to run high demand tools without waiting for air pressure, as well as some headroom in your CFM. You didn't mention how big a tank your 5HP unit had, but it seems a bit optimistic to expect a unit with less than half the HP to perform the same, even if it is a Quincy.

The good news is with proper maintenance the Quincy will be around for a long, long time.
more
Was this review helpful?
03
Kyle Z.
Albion, PA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/27/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Compressor
You get what you pay for! I use this compressor in my racecar trailer so I have to have something that works eveytime! I've been using it all summer and it works really well.

It is quiet and comes up to pressure in a reasonable time frame. After buying this I will be looking to Quincy for a larger model for in my garage.

I would recommend this compressor.

One thing to note before you buy this compressor- call Air Compressors Direct. Just because it says in stock on the website... more
Pros: Quiet, Reliable, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Kyle Recommends This Quincy Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Kyle,
Thank you for your patience! We depend on the manufacturers to update us when the availability of a compressor changes, but sometimes we don't find out right away.

Manufacturers filling large orders, availability of components, and local weather events (power outages, floods, tornadoes) can all affect the day-to-day availability of products. We emailed you about the delay of your order, and update our pages as soon as we know of a status change.

Please be assured that we do not collect from your credit card until we have confirmed that your order has shipped! This makes sure we closely follow your order status to make sure it ships as quickly as possible.
more
Kyle's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"One thing to note before you buy this compressor call Air Compressors Direct. Just because it says in stock on the website doesn't mean it is. I ordered mine and received the back order notice the next day. I called and the lady was very nice but informed me they really don't know when they can get the units until they put in an order. Mine took 6 weeks to get. Must have had to melt down the steel to make it... LOL"
 more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Kyle,
Actually, Quincy was waiting on one of the components needed to complete your compressor; it was unexpectedly delayed. We appreciate your business, and apologize for any inconvenience.
Was this review helpful?
14
Ritchie C.
Independence, LA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 12/28/13
Total Helpful Votes
26 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
01
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not What I Expected
Wanted a portable compressor to replace my 20yr old Craftsman 25 gal. oil-less compressor. Thought the horizontal style would be more portable than the vertical style but not for me.

This compressor has very slow recovery time and is more of a nail gun, tire inflator than a work compressor. Do not expect anything else. I have used it with my nail gun and it does a great job. Used it with the die grinder and painting- not so good. I'm sure it may last a while but disappointed in the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Reliable, Made In The Usa
Cons: Packaging, Expensive, Very Slow Recovery, Not Very Portable
Ritchie Recommends This Quincy Product
Was this review helpful?
269
Bill B.
Cupertino, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/7/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
What A Mistake
Iíve had a Quincy compressor since 2001 and itís out lasted numerous other compressors. I decided it was time to get another Quincy and went on line to see what was out there and ended up buying a Q1210PQ. When it arrived I thought this is great itís quiet, easy to move around everything my other Quincy was and more. Hereís where the story takes a turn after thirty minutes of run time we started to see oil on the floor under the compressor after closer inspection we noticed the head bolts were... more
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Bill,
On your behalf, we have contacted Quincy to see if they can make arrangements with a closer service center. We or they will contact you as soon as we have a solution.
more
Was this review helpful?
92
Carr C.
Plano, TX
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 10/7/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Poor Quality & Terrible Acd Customer Service
I bought the Quincy 20PG from ACD. It said it ships in 2-5 days, but right under that in smaller print it says it ships from the manufacturer.. times may vary. It is now obvious that ACD is offering something and taking it right back in the next sentence. It took a month to get the compressor. Absolutely no damage to the container or unit. It looked beautiful when I took the top off the shipping pallet.

Read the manual from front to back and then did my break-in for 1 hour. Everything was... more
Cons: Low Quality, Acd Customer Service
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Carr,
Just to clarify the time line: This order was placed online on 10/7/15. It was shipped from Quincy's SC factory on 10/15/15 & delivered on 10/21/15. Well short of a month.

All compressor manufacturers purchase the electric motors for their products. The motor is warrantied by the motor manufacturer, not the compressor maker or ACD. If the electric motor is defective, then a replacement motor will be supplied, but the replacement of the entire compressor is not necessary.

The warranty for any brand of portable air compressor does not include in-home service, so that is why it must be taken to a service center for evaluation. It has nothing to do with the serial # on the compressor or where it was purchased.
more
Was this review helpful?
83
Raymond S.
Schertz, TX
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality Quincy
I had a Porter Cable 60 gallon, I had to down size and found this much smaller 20 gallon Quincy compressor.

So I ordered it on line and to my surprise 4 days later it was delivered by ABF truck in perfect condition. I unboxed it and went through the start up procedures and finished an hour later with a perfectly running compressor with zero leaks.

I have been impressed with all experience including trucking company and driver who delivered this product. Hats off to Quincy and ABF.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, Reliable, High Quality, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Raymond Recommends This Quincy Product
Was this review helpful?
72
Blake M.
Columbia, SC
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 8/24/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is A Great Garage Compressor!
I was looking for a portable garage compressor that runs on 110v. This was the highest CFM 2hp portable I could find at 7.4cfm at 90psi. I use it for general household uses and occasional body work.

I received it within 3 days of my order. It was delivered by lift truck and the driver brought it into the garage for me on a pallet jack. It was sturdily packaged and arrived with no damage. I unwrapped it and he hauled the packaging material away.

The compressor is nice! Excellent finish... more
Pros: Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Blake Recommends This Quincy Product
Was this review helpful?
63
Kenneth F.
Gladstone, MO
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 5/10/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Made In Usa
I love it! This unit is fairly quiet and strong. I use it for shop air and to run a Miller Spectrum 375 plasma cutter. No problem. The PED website recommended a 40 amp breaker for this unit, which had me concerned. However another source recommended a 15 amp breaker. They were correct, the 15 amp is fine. The crate was delivered by YRC in perfect condition. Overall I am pleased.
Kenneth Recommends This Quincy Product
Kenneth's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"As the PED site states, these items are factory direct ship. So if you want it next day....not gonna happen. If you can wait a few days the savings in taxes make it worth it alone."
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Frank S.
Gardnerville, NV
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 8/5/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Heavy Duty Compressor
I'm a classic car collector and I have a shop set up in my garage and use the air compressor all the time. It's never failed to do what I need it to do.

I used to do drywall and the spray texture machine had a Quincy compressor on it and it lasted forever.

So far the portable Quincy air compressor has been great.
Frank Recommends This Quincy Product
Frank's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"The shipping was a little slow but it was free shipping. The price was very good, so to me it was worth the wait. I'm retired and in no hurry, these days."
 more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Frank,
Your order shipped within the 2 to 5 business days (Monday thru Friday, excluding holidays) we describe, but since there was an incorrect phone number listed on your order the freight company couldn't set up a delivery appointment with you. Once we sent them the corrected phone number your unit was delivered in a timely fashion. We appreciate your business, and apologize for any inconvenience!
Was this review helpful?
00
Daniel H.
Preston, ID
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 4/14/14
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Framing?- Stick With Rolair
Quincy vs the Rolair 1.5-HP 9-Gallon Electric Dual Voltage Wheelbarrow Air Compressor

Rolair runs a lot less time to fill tank back up. (Compared by connecting both compressors to a 20 gal air keg)

Rolair kicks on sooner. With the Quincy you constantly have to finish nailing in the nails while using a framing nailer.

Rolair has a blow by valve that you can open when it's cold to let it run without trying to compress the tanks. This lets it warm up the oil so it doesn't bog down and... more
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Bad Cold Weather Startup
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Daniel,
Thank you for the detailed review & comparison of these two compressors. We agree that the Quincy 2 HP 20 gallon compressor is better suited for the homeowner/DIY market. That is why we list it as a Consumer grade compressor. The Rolair Wheelbarrow compressors are specifically designed for Contractor/Jobsite uses.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jim N.
Tallahassee, FL
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/25/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
19
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Waiting On Quincy...
Looking for an upgrade to my old compressor and this will fill the bill I believe. Ordered Jan.25 and got delivery on Feb 5.

No apparent damage to crate. Unpacked and belt guard was shattered in many pieces, Wheel on the same side was crushed.

PED referred me to Quincy and I sent them pictures and info on Feb 6. No definitive response from Quincy after 2 weeks except they are working on it.

Compressor works fine and I can already tell it will be a vast improvement over my old... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use
Cons: Heavy, Packaging
Jim Recommends This Quincy Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Jim B.
Pitt, CA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/9/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Little Compressor
Just got it in today. The driver was a great guy and spent about 30 minutes just curious about what I'm up to (building a plane). From the reviews I read on this site everything from loose hardware, oil leaks, unclear documentation and poor packaging - it all had me worried.

NONE OF THAT HAPPENED! It was safely packed and spotless. It's a very nice shade of blue and may be a contender for the blue I plan to paint my plane. I checked all the nuts and allen bolts, checked the pulleys and the... more
Pros: Quiet, Reliable, High Quality, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy
Jim Recommends This Quincy Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Bob M.
Des Plaines, IL
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 9/30/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Runs Cool.
Bought 3 compressors (2x) of this 2 hp 115 volt, and (1x) 230 volt 5 hp.Quincy is the best compressor in the world, and really do run cooler with their slower rpm's and aluminum head configuration.
Bob Recommends This Quincy Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Wayne S.
Coin, IA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/12/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Air Compressor
THE only portable air compressor I have found that is belt driven, oil lubricated, cast iron cylinder for longevity and that pumps more than 5 1/2 cfm of air.

The air compressor is very quiet and builds pressure quickly. I couldn't find any other compressor to compete with it.

I would highly recommend it.
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Reliable, Durable
Wayne Recommends This Quincy Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Mark G.
Fort Worth, TX
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 3/4/16
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
All Went Well
After reading some of the reviews I hesitated ordering my compressor. I could not find a Quincy locally so I took the chance and ordered.

It arrived in good shape and works without any adjustments required. I am pleased with my purchase.
Mark Recommends This Quincy Product
Was this review helpful?
13
Phillip Mcg.
Seattle, WA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 11/3/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
15
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Leaks At Check Valve Stem On Arrival
I ordered this compressor a few months back (Nov. 2015) and didn't get a chance to test it under pressure until just a few days ago. Freight shipping worked quite well and the package arrived in great condition with zero damage visible. I ordered liftgate service and the delivery guy was nice enough to drop it and move the crate into my garage.

Upon testing it under pressure, I am noticing that it's leaking at the base of the tank check valve at a substantial rate (probably drops 10 psi in... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Durable, Fast
Cons: Low Quality
Phillip Recommends This Quincy Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Phillip,
The folks at Quincy are supposed to check each unit before it ships out- I am sorry this one got by them.

Would you please give Quincy a call at 251.937.5900? They will be able to help you figure out the problem, or provide warranty service if you need it. Please also have the serial number of your compressor handy when you call- they will ask for it.

We appreciate your business, and apologize for any inconvenience!
more
Was this review helpful?
13
Tom K.
West Des Moines, IA
Purchased from Air Compressors Direct
Purchased 1/14/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Needed Asap
Needed to replace failed air compressor for process customer. Powers pneumatic opening equipment doors. Needed ASAP.

Installed well, has capacity required, has name brand recognition. Is small enough to fit on wall shelf w/ rubber isolators.

Delivery was quick, ordering was clear-cut. Highly recommend to others.
Tom Recommends This Quincy Product
Tom's Experience With Air Compressors Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Installed well, has capacity required, has name brand recognition. Is small enough to fit on wall shelf w/rubber isolators. Delivery was quick, ordering was clear-cut. Highly recommend to others."
 more
Was this review helpful?
02
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials